Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue
Faculty and Student Recognitions

Recognitions, December 8

The first half of December brings exciting honors and funding awards for UT staff and students: Physics Professor Honored with Slack Award; CEHHS Educator Preparation Provider Program Receives National Recognition; Governor’s Chair Recognized for Materials Research and Development Leadership; Engineering Professor Publishes on Engineering Education in Multiple Journals; UTIA Researcher Inducted into the Conference of Research Workers in Animal Diseases; UT Researchers Awarded R&D 100 for Tap Testing Method; School of Music Alumnus Wins Latin Grammy for Best Engineered Album; School of Music Alumnus Named Recipient of Willard J. Hines Music Scholarship; Drawing and Painting Professor Receives SECAC Best of Show Award

Nadia Fomin Honored with Francis G. Slack Award

Nadia Fomin, UT's Department of Physics and AstonomyNadia Fomin, associate professor in the Department of Physics and Astronomy has been awarded the Francis G. Slack by the Southeastern Section of the American Physical Society for her dedication to physics in the South. The Slack Award recognizes scientists who work unselfishly to raise the region’s stature in physics through research, university service, outreach, and support for organizations and conferences.

CEHHS Educator Preparation Provider Program Receives National Recognition

CEHHS Educator Preparation Provider ProgramUT’s Educator Preparation Provider program (EPP) has been recognized with the 2021 Frank Murray Leadership Recognition for Continuous Improvement from the Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP). The program, housed within the College of Education, Health, and Human Sciences, is one of only 26 providers from 17 states and the United Arab Emirates to receive this recognition. This distinguished acknowledgement signifies the leadership and commitment of the college to continuous improvement in the EPP program.

Zinkle Awarded for Materials Research and Development Leadership

Steven Zinkle. Governor's Chair for Nuclear MaterialsUT-ORNL Governor’s Chair for Nuclear Materials Steven Zinkle is the recipient of The Minerals, Metals and Materials Society (TMS) Leadership Award for 2022. TMS gives this award annually to an individual with exceptional leadership in the national and international metallurgy and materials fields from within an industrial, academic, governmental, or technical organization. Zinkle was recognized for his research utilizing microstructure/property relationships that has enabled improved understanding of operational limits and design strategies for high-performance radiation-resistant materials.

Faber Publishes on Engineering Education in Multiple Journals

Courtney Faber, Lecturer and Research Assistant Engineering ProfessorCourtney Faber, lecturer and research assistant professor in Engineering Fundamentals, recently published in the Journal of Research in Science Teaching (JRST), a top education journal, to wrap up a five-year national science foundation research study in collaboration with researchers from Clemson University and The Ohio State University. The overall goal of the project was to explore how undergraduate engineering students come to see themselves as researchers and develop their beliefs about knowledge in engineering through undergraduate research experiences.

UTIA Researcher Inducted into the Conference of Research Workers in Animal Diseases

Jun Lin Professor, Animal ScienceJun Lin, microbiologist in the Department of Animal Science, was named as a Fellow to the Conference of Research Workers in Animal Diseases (CRWAD) earlier this month. He is one of 16 researchers nationwide to be inducted this year. Established in 1920, CRWAD’s purpose as a non-profit is to discuss and disseminate the most current research advances in animal health and disease, population health, and translational medicine. Upon induction, fellows are expected to make ongoing contributions to the mission of CRWAD.

Schmitz, Team awarded R&D 100 for Tap Testing Method

Tony Schmitz, UT's Tickle College of EngineeringResearchers  from UT, Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL), and MSC Industrial Supply Company and Manufacturing Laboratories have been chosen for an R&D 100 award for MSC MillMax, innovative tap testing technology. Being chosen for an R&D 100 award acknowledges that tap testing is a scientific advancement that will help American manufacturers improve the utilization of their machine tools by moving away from the traditional, time consuming approach to machining, and accessing the full capabilities of the machine.

School of Music Alumnus Wins Latin Grammy for Best Engineered Album

Delber Bowers, UT School of Music AlumnusDelbert Bowers, a School of Music alumnus, recently won a Latin Grammy (Best Engineered Album) for his work on El Madrileño by C. Tangana. Bowers graduated from the University of Tennessee with an undergraduate degree in trumpet performance, then went on to pursue his master’s degree at Ohio University and his Doctor of Musical Arts at the University of Southern California.

School of Music Alumnus Named Recipient of Willard J. Hines Music Scholarship

Brandon Bell, UT School of Music, AlumnusBrandon Bell (MM, ‘17), an alumnus of the UT School of Music graduate program in voice, has been named one of two 2021 recipients of the premier scholarship in vocal performance. The scholarship was named in honor Willard J. Hines, a Detroit Choir director-educator.  The scholarship committee, composed of his former students, aims to financially assist young leaders in music, and can be granted to vocalists of any style.

Mary Laube Receives SECAC Best of Show Award

UT Art Professor Mary LaubeMary Laube, painting and drawing professor in the UT School of Art, was the recipient of the Best of Show award at the 2021 SECAC (formerly the Southeastern College Art Conference) Juried Exhibition. Laube’s award winning work is titled “Ceremonial,” and is a 24″ by 18″ Acrylic on Paper. The SECAC 2021 Juried Exhibition selected ninety-six works for presentation that included video, mixed media, paintings, drawings, photographs, sculpture, prints, and more, created by contemporary artists and educators working in the southeastern region and across the United States.