Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue
Faculty and Student Recognitions

Recognitions, April 28

The end of April brings additional recognition and awards for UT faculty, staff, and students: An associate dean for faculty affairs and engagement in the Tickle College of Engineering earns Outstanding Campus Representative award; Geography professor receives AAG Lifetime Achievement Award; Electrical engineering professor wins IEEE Distinguished Educator Award; Geography student receives AAG research grant; Mechanical, aerospace, and biomedical engineering student selected for a VFF scholarship; Industrial and systems engineering student wins IISE Mid-Atlantic Technical Regional Competition; Transportation engineering graduate students win Best Paper Awards at ITE.

ASEE Names Frymier Outstanding Campus Representative for 2021

Paul Frymier, associate dean for faculty affairs and engagement, was recognized as the 2021 Outstanding Campus Representative by the American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE). ASEE Campus Representatives are designated by their institution to serve as the liaison between ASEE Headquarters and faculty and students on campus. They play a crucial role in recruiting new ASEE members and in keeping current and potential members informed of ASEE activities. The announcement from ASEE cited Frymier for maintaining an active campus presence in soliciting membership from new faculty, communicating with faculty and administrators about ASEE, and coordinating workshops on pedagogical topics.

UTK Geography Professor Sally Horn received a Lifetime Achievement Award

UTK Geography Professor Sally Horn received the Karl and Elisabeth Butzer Award for Lifetime Achievement in the study of Paleoenvironmental Change at the April 2021 meeting of the American Association of Geographers. Presented by the Paleoenvironmental Specialty Group, Horn received the award in recognition of her efforts to document the long-term environmental history of the circum-Caribbean region, South America, and the southeastern U.S. based on lake sediments and other natural archives.

Fathy Receives IEEE Distinguished Educator Award

Electrical engineering professor Aly Fathy has received the 2021 Distinguished Educator Award from the IEEE Microwave Theory and Techniques Society (MTT-S).  One of the most prestigious awards by the MTT-S, it recognizes a distinguished educator in the field of microwave engineering and science. Fathy was selected as this year’s recipient for his outstanding achievements as an educator, mentor, and role model of microwave engineers and engineering students.

UTK Geography student Jamie Alumbaugh received AAG research grant

UTK Geography graduate student Jamie Alumbaugh received a research grant from the Paleoenvironmental Change specialty group at the April 2021 meeting of the American Association of Geographers. The grant will support her dissertation research using ancient sedimentary DNA along with other evidence in lake sediment cores to understand long-term patterns of environmental change and human-environment interactions in the Andes mountains of Ecuador.

Carnes Awarded Vertical Flight Foundation Scholarship

MABE student Jared Carnes has been selected for a Vertical Flight Foundation (VFF) scholarship, one of the most prestigious scholarships within the vertical lift and rotorcraft community. Each year, the Vertical Flight Society awards the VFF scholarships to college students who are demonstrating an interest in pursuing an engineering related career in vertical flight technology.

Kalina Scarbrough Wins First Place at IISE Regional Conference

Kalina Scarbrough, a junior in industrial and systems engineering, won first place in the 2021 IISE Mid-Atlantic Technical Regional Competition for her paper, Real-Time Sensor-Based Prediction of Soil Moisture in Green Infrastructure: Case Study. The project investigates green infrastructures, specifically bio-retentions, and predicting their future state.

Students Win Best Paper Awards from Institute of Transportation Engineers

Transportation engineering graduate students Amin Mohammadnazar, Nitesh Shah, and Iman Mahdi Nia recently won Best Paper Awards at the Tennessee Section of Institute of Transportation Engineers (ITE) annual student paper competition.