Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Recognitions, January 6

The start of a new year brings additional recognition and awards for UT faculty, staff, and students: Music student named Marshall Scholar; Assistant Art Professor receives a Creative Capital Award; History professor honored with the James Henry Breasted Prize; Distinguished Professor of Anthropology receives the Patty Jo Watson Award; Nuclear engineering doctoral students recognized for outstanding scientific excellence; Four student researchers from the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science received awards at SC20; Child and Family Studies doctoral candidate awarded the Wesley Burr Graduate Student Scholarship.

Josie-Campbell-photoMusic Major Named 2021 Marshall Scholar

Elise “Josie” Campbell has been named a 2021 Marshall Scholar, a prestigious designation awarded to no more than 50 US students each year to pursue graduate studies in the United Kingdom. Campbell is a senior in music with a minor in Africana studies. She is the first UT student to receive the award since 1983 and only the third since it was launched in 1953. Campbell intends to use the award to pursue a two-year Master of Music in cello performance at a London conservatory.

Sheldon Receives Creative Capital Award to Support King Coal

UT's Elaine Sheldon, School of ArtAssistant Professor Elaine McMillion Sheldon named among the 42 artists, representing 35 projects, to receive a 2021 Creative Capital Award. Her film, King Coal, was selected from nearly 4,000 applications to receive up to $50,000 in project funding. The in-progress documentary highlights the daily lives of Central Appalachians who have been seen the impact of coal in their region. The King Coal team also includes Curren Sheldon, director of photography, and Molly Born, the film’s co-producer and field producer.

Sanft Receives 2020 Breasted Prize

UT's Charles Sanft, Department of HistoryCharles Sanft, professor and associate head of the history department, received the 2020 James Henry Breasted Prize for his second book, Literate Community in Early Imperial China: The Northwestern Frontier in Han Times (SUNY Press). Established in 1985 and named in honor of James Henry Breasted, a pioneer in ancient Egyptian and Near Eastern history, this prize is offered by the American Historical Association for the best book in English in any field of history prior to CE 1000.

Simek, Carroll Receive 2020 Patty Jo Watson Award

UT's Jan Simek, AnthropologyJan Simek, Distinguished Professor of Anthropology, and Beau Carroll, anthropology graduate student, received the 2020 Patty Jo Watson Award for their article “Talking Stones: Cherokee Syllabary in Manitou Cave, Alabama,” published in Antiquity in April 2019. The Patty Jo Watson Award is offered by the Southeastern Archaeological Conference and honors the best article or book chapter in southeastern archaeology, published in the preceding year. The award is named in honor of Professor emerita Patty Jo Watson in recognition of her major accomplishments in southeastern and world archaeology and her many years of mentoring young scholars.

Students Awarded for Research on Nuclear Fuel and Pyrochlore Oxides

Nuclear engineering doctoral students Will Cureton and Devon Drey were recognized for their outstanding scientific excellence for their oral presentations at the 2020 Materials Research Society Virtual Spring/Fall Meeting and Exhibit. Their presentations were 15 minutes each, and came with a prize of $500.

Four Computer Science Students Earn Poster Awards at SC20

Four student researchers from the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science received awards at SC20, the International Conference for High Performance Computing, Networking, Storage, and Analysis. This competition, sponsored by Microsoft, offers a unique forum for undergraduate and graduate students to present their original research before a panel of judges and attendees.

Capannola Wins NCFR Wesley Burr Graduate Student Scholarship

Amanda Capannola has been awarded the Wesley Burr Graduate Student Scholarship Award from the National Council on Family Relations (NCFR)The award is intended to encourage and recognize the scholarly activity of students who are members of NCFR and the Advancing Family Science Section.