Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue
Faculty and Student Recognitions

Recognitions, March 23

The end of March brings additional honors and funding awards for UT faculty and students: Forestry Professor Receives Fulbright-Saastamoinen Foundation Grant; TCE Office of Diversity Program Director Recognized for Excellence in Student Advocacy; UTCVM Veterinarian Honored with AAVMC Excellence in Research Award; Associate Dean for Academic and Student Affairs to Represent UT at HERS Institute; Research Associate Receives NSF Mathematical Sciences Postdoctoral Research Fellowship; Associate Professor Selected to the Inaugural Class of Distinguished Contributors

Adam Taylor portrait

UTIA Forestry Researcher Receives Fulbright-Saastamoinen Foundation Grant

Adam Taylor, professor of forestry in the Department of Forestry, Wildlife, and Fisheries, has been awarded a Fulbright-Saastamoinen Foundation Grant in Health and Environmental Sciences. Taylor will spend much of 2023 at the University of Eastern Finland European Forest Institute in Joensuu researching the carbon connections between forests and forest products and climate change. The Fulbright Finland Foundation, University of Eastern Finland, and the Saastamoinen Foundation offer a unique opportunity for international academic collaboration in Health and Environmental Sciences, including forestry science. Specifically, Taylor plans to research how forest management and decisions about forest product manufacturing and utilization can help mitigate climate change.

Travis Griffin Recognized for Excellence in Student Advocacy

Travis Griffin, UTThe National Society of Black Engineers (NSBE) recognized Travis Griffin, director of the college’s Engineering Diversity Programs, as its Collegiate Chapter Advocate of the Year in the recent 25th Annual NSBE Golden Torch Awards. Griffin will accept the award at NSBE’s 48th Annual Convention on March 26 in Anaheim, California. This award honors individuals who make significant contributions to collegiate NSBE chapters.

AAVMC Recognizes UTCVM’s Rouse with Excellence in Research Award

Barry Rouse, UTCVMThe American Association of Veterinary Medical Colleges (AAVMC) has named Barry T. Rouse, a veterinarian and an immunologist in the Department of Biomedical and Diagnostic Services​ at the University of Tennessee College of Veterinary Medicine, as the recipient of the 2022 AAVMC Excellence in Research Award. Presented annually, this national award recognizes an individual who, over the course of his or her career, has demonstrated excellence in original research, leadership in the scientific community, and mentoring of trainees and colleagues in any discipline of veterinary medicine.

Kilic Chosen to Represent UT at June HERS Institute

Ozlem Kilic, UT's Tickle College of EngineeringOzlem Kilic, associate dean for academic and student affairs will attend the 2022 Higher Education Resource Services (HERS) Leadership Institute’s program in Denver, Colorado. She is sponsored for the program by UT’s Commission for Women, Chancellor Donde Plowman, and Vice Chancellor Tyvi Small. Chancellor Plowman and the Commission for Women sponsor an outstanding UT woman for this program each year. HERS has a sterling reputation for expanding horizons, providing exposure to new and exciting ideas, fostering enduring mentoring relationships, and preparing women for institutional leadership roles.

Agrawal Receives NSF Postdoctoral Research Fellowship

Devanshu Agrawal, post-doctoral research associate at UTPost-doctoral research associate Devanshu Agrawal received a 2022 National Science Foundation (NSF) Mathematical Sciences Postdoctoral Research Fellowship (MSPRF). He plans to apply the fellowship to his work here at UT with Associate Professor Jim Ostrowski in the Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering.

Thapliyal Earns IEEE Honors

Associate Professor Himanshu ThapliyalAssociate Professor Himanshu Thapliyal has been selected to the Inaugural Class of IEEE Computer Society Distinguished Contributors. This recognition showcases his contributions to the society as well as other accomplishments and achievements to the computing profession. The IEEE Computer Society Distinguished Contributor Program was introduced in 2021 as part of the Society’s 75th Anniversary. The program showcases the immense combined technical expertise and innovation power of its membership while recognizing volunteer commitment.