Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Biological Sciences

Our researchers focus on the nation’s long-term energy needs in security, independence, sustainability, and the energy-environment-climate nexus using state-of-the-art capability in biological and environmental systems.

The Governor’s Chair for Environmental Biotechnology is Terry Hazen, an environmental biologist specializing in bioremediation and bioenergy.

The Governor’s Chair for Biorefining is Arthur Ragauskas, an authority in bioenergy. His research is important to uncovering ways to convert biomass to biofuels, biopower, and biomaterials.

The Governor’s Chair in Molecular Biophysics is Jeremy Smith, who performs research at the interface of biological, environmental, physical, computational, and neutron sciences.