Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

CMUP / Early Career Science Fellowships

First year only: Searle

Third year only: Cottrell

First three years: Burroughs-Wellcome / Pew Research Foundation

First four years: Beckman

First six years: Sloan / NSF CAREER

Available to all Faculty: Fulbright

Early Grants by Year (3)

2014 CMUP Young Investigator Faculty Awards and Fellowships in STEM Disciplines

This list comes from the Center for Measuring University Performance and serves as the measure of faculty awards for the UT Top 25 project.

Burroughs-Wellcome Career Awards at the Scientific Interface
Deadline: September 4 (preproposal)
8-12 awards
Fields: physical/mathematical/computational scientists and engineers whose work addresses biological questions.
Eligibility: For the first three years of faculty service
Sloan Fellowships
Deadline: September 15
118 awards
Fields: chemistry, physics, mathematics, computer science, economics, neuroscience or computational and evolutionary molecular biology, or a related interdisciplinary field.
Eligibility: Faculty no more than six years from completion of the most recent Ph.D.
Searle Scholars
Deadline: September 26, 2014
15 awards
Fields: Applicants for awards will be expected to be pursuing independent research careers in biochemistry, cell biology, genetics, immunology, neuroscience, pharmacology, and related areas in chemistry, medicine, and the biological sciences.
Eligibility: Candidates should have begun their appointment as an independent investigator at the assistant professor level on or after July 1, 2013. The appointment must be their first tenure-track position (or its nearest equivalent).
Beckman Young Investigators­_guides.htm
Deadline: October 1
5 awards
Fields: fundamental research in the chemical and life sciences.
Eligibility: Faculty who not have completed more than four full years of a tenure-track appointment.
Deadline: late July (varies by discipline)
425 awards
Fields:  any area of science, mathematics, engineering and social science normally supported by NSF.
Eligibility: Junior faculty only.
Pew Scholars in Biomedicine
Deadline: July 15, 2014
22 awards
Fields: Biomedical sciences
Eligibility: First three years
Cottrell Scholars
Deadline: August 1
10 awards
Fields: astronomy, biochemistry, biophysics, chemistry, or physics, but not in a school of medicine or engineering.
Eligibility: Faculty in the third year after their first tenure-track appointment.
Fulbright US Scholars
Deadline: August 1
800 awards
Fields: all
Eligibility: all ranks