Skip to content

ORE Hosts Data Management Learning Opportunity

The Responsible Conduct of Research Lunch and Learn series kicked off this week with two sessions on data management. The series, offered through the Office of Research and Engagement, boasts a comprehensive program of topic areas intended to educate our campus community about the importance of ethical research practices and relevant compliance topics.

Christopher B. Eaker, assistant professor, data curation librarian, and member of the Hodges Library Scholar’s Collaborative Group, led both sessions on data management this week. Samantha Ehrlich, assistant professor in the Department of Public Health, served as rapporteur for the topic and summarized the learning objectives and outcomes on behalf of the Office of Research and Engagement.
Continue reading

Recognitions, September 30

Please send faculty, staff, and student recognitions to Erin Chapin (

  • The Smart Communities Initiative was honored by the Southeast Tennessee Development District, a past and continuing partner, with their Flame Award, an overall agency award recognizing the SCI program and the university for commitment to engage the community, solve real-world problems, and “ignite the imagination of future leaders”.

Continue reading

Funding Opportunities Roundup, September 30

NIH Opportunities

Join the UT NIH Research Community by contacting Jennifer Webster ( and start receiving the weekly NIH Digest.

  • NIH BRAIN Initiative: Data Archives for the BRAIN Initiative (R24) (RFA-MH-17-255)
  • NIH BRAIN Initiative: Integration and Analysis of BRAIN Initiative Data (R24) (RFA-MH-17-257)
  • NIH BRAIN Initiative: New Concepts and Early-Stage Research for Large-Scale Recording and Modulation in the Nervous System (R21) (RFA-EY-17-001)
  • NHGRI Centers of Excellence in Genomic Science (CEGS) (RM1) (PAR-16-436)
  • NIA Basic and Translational Research on Decision Making in Aging and Alzheimer’s Disease (R01) (PAR-16-448)
  • NIA Basic and Translational Research on Decision Making in Aging and Alzheimer’s Disease (R21) (PAR-16-449)
  • NICHD Learning Disabilities Research Centers (P50) (RFA-HD-17-006)
  • NINDS High Impact Neuroscience Research Resource Grants (R24) (RFA-NS-17-002)

Continue reading

UT Joins I-Corps South to Expand Entrepreneurial Training

UT will receive grant funding to teach technology entrepreneurship, perform research, and foster innovation through the National Science Foundation’s Innovation Corps (I-Corps) program.

A public-private partnership, I-Corps was created in 2011 to train researchers to evaluate the commercial potential of their scientific discoveries. The program is offered in a “start-up boot camp” format.
Continue reading

UT’s Research Group Provides Social Media Analysis of First Debate; Looks Ahead to Future Debates

Stuart Brotman

Stuart Brotman

Social media chatter during this week’s first presidential debate was more negative toward Donald Trump than Hillary Clinton.

Social media users showed little interest in talk about NATO but much interest in talk about fighting ISIS. They called for #factcheck most frequently on the topics of birtherism, Iraq War and tax returns.

Those were among the main takeaways reported by The Political Social Media Group, led by Stuart N. Brotman, Howard Distinguished Endowed Professor of Media Management and Law and Beaman Professor at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville. The research team is composed of students enrolled in Brotman’s graduate political communication seminar. The students used sophisticated social media monitoring software to analyze public sentiment during the Sept. 26 presidential debate.

Continue reading

The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.