Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue


Nathan J. Kelly, associate professor of political science, has been named a 2017 Andrew Carnegie Research Fellow. The recognition comes for his work studying how economic inequality reinforces itself through politics.

Rachel Elbon and Adam Smith, students in the School of Architecture in the College of Architecture and Design, have won an award in the 2016–17 AIA COTE Top Ten for Students national design competition. The event is hosted by the American Institute of Architecture Committee on the Environment and the Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture.

UT’s College of Education, Health, and Human Sciences recently inducted seven educators into the Educators Hall of Honor Class of 2017. The Hall of Honor was established to recognize educators who have made profound differences in their students’ lives and the community. Learn more about the Hall of Honor and see the list of local educators inducted for 2017. 

Diane Fox, senior lecturer and director of exhibits at the College of Architecture and Design, has been chosen to exhibit at Palais de Tokyo in Paris, the largest museum in Europe devoted to contemporary art. Photographs from her long-running series, “UnNatural History“, will be part of the museum’s Dioramas exhibit June 14–September 10. The exhibit presents contemporary artists whose work explores the diorama and offers a unique understanding of the history of spectatorship.

Council on International Educational Exchange (CIEE) to help fund their participation in CIEE Open Campus programs for the spring 2017 semester. Designed for maximum flexibility and academic rigor, CIEE Open Campus is the only program that gives students control over the design of their study abroad experience.
Continue reading

earned Tennessee Society of Professional Engineers (TSPE) scholarships. The honor includes $3,500 to be spent in their educational pursuits.

Ed Cortez, professor and former director of the School of Information Sciences (SIS) in the College of Communication and Information, has been appointed chair of the American Libraries Association (ALA) Committee on Education.

Howard Hall, the joint UT-Oak Ridge National Laboratory Governor’s Chair for Global Nuclear Security was recently featured in the prestigious journal Science for his thoughts on post-nuclear fallout.