Updates and Information on Coronavirus (COVID-19)
Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Undergraduate Awards

The Undergraduate Awards (UA) is the world’s largest international academic awards program, recognizing excellent research and original work across the sciences, humanities, business, and creative arts. The top 10 percent of students in their respective categories are honored as Highly Commended. Regional Winners are then chosen from each of the seven regions in the competition, and a final Global Winner is selected in each category.

UT’s winners were Alexandra Brito, a May 2017 graduate, who was named a Global Winner; Sierra Roark, also a May graduate, who was a Regional Winner; and senior Rachel Hunt, who was Highly Commended.

All winners are invited to attend the Global Summit, which will be held Nov. 7–9 in Dublin, Ireland. As a Global Winner, Brito will receive an all-expenses-paid trip to the Global Summit, where she will be presented with a gold medal by Michael Higgins, president of Ireland.

Continue reading

The College of Architecture and Design extends condolences to friends, family and alumni on the death of Professor William “Bill” Shell. Professor Shell passed away on June 12. Shell served the college for 41 years and taught thousands of students. He retired in 2010, and in commemoration of that event, the college reported, “Shell’s many gifts—his intelligence, his challenging coursework, his dedication to architectural education, his wealth of stories and his dry wit—will be greatly missed by students, faculty and alumni alike.”

A group of 24 students from the Haslam College of Business studied a wide range of management styles during mini-term in London, England, in May. Professors Russell Crook and Don Bruce led the University of Tennessee, Knoxville, students on the trip, exposing the group to cultural differences in the business environment and the United Kingdom’s current economic transformation.

UT alumnus and retired NFL quarterback Peyton Manning awarded scholarships to four incoming freshmen: Emma Kate Hall of Lebanon, Tennessee; Grace Neiman of West Point, Nebraska; Sydney Peay of Spring Hill, Tennessee; and Blake Turpin of Knoxville. The Peyton Manning Scholarship Endowment was established in 1998 and, including this year’s four recipients, 33 students have benefited from the scholarship. It is awarded to incoming students each year on the basis of academic achievement, leadership, and community service. All Peyton Manning Scholars are part of the Haslam Scholars Program, the university’s premier honors program.