Updates and Information on Coronavirus (COVID-19)
Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue


UT has joined a three-year effort to develop inclusive faculty recruitment, hiring, and retention practices. The Association of Public and Land-grant Universities co-leads the project, known as Aspire: The National Alliance for Inclusive and Diverse STEM Faculty.

Continue reading

Women in STEM Research Symposium highlights a range of scholarly contributions made by self-identifying women in the science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM) fields. The day-long event, now in its fourth year, will be held Thursday, March 1, and includes poster and oral presentations, featured talks, a panel discussion, and a special keynote speaker from the Department of Defense.

Thursday, March 1
8 a.m. – 4 p.m.
Howard H. Baker Jr. Center for Public Policy

Mary J. Miller, who is currently performing the duties of the Assistant Secretary of Defense for Research and Engineering, is the keynote speaker this year. Miller, a UT alumna, provides leadership, establishes policy and guidance for the development and execution of the DOD Science and Technology enterprise, with an annual budget in excess of $12 billion.

Mallory Ladd, doctoral candidate and National Science Foundation (NSF) Graduate Research Fellow in Energy Science and Engineering, said she is most excited about this year’s speakers.

“We were able to get a really impressive line-up of scientists and engineers from varied backgrounds in academia, industry, non-profits, and government. I think that their career experiences and advice will be interesting to a broad audience.” 

Continue reading

The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers has honored UT’s Yuntao Wu with the 2017 Radiation Instrumentation Early Career Award, a top honor for young faculty.

Wu, a research assistant professor in materials science and engineering, was honored for “significant and innovative technical contributions to the fields of radiation instrumentation and measurement techniques.”

Given by IEEE’s Nuclear and Plasma Science Society, the honor comes for Wu’s work with the Scintillation Materials Research Center at UT.

Beebe Inducted as Fellow in the American Academy of NursingLora Beebe

College of Nursing Professor Lora Humphrey Beebe was inducted as a Fellow in the American Academy of Nursing on October 7.  The Academy serves the public and the nursing profession by advancing health policy and practice through the generation, synthesis, and dissemination of nursing knowledge. Academy members, known as Fellows, are nursing’s most accomplished leaders.

Beebe’s research informs psychiatric nursing practice, shapes nursing education nationally and internationally, and has been published and presented in both nursing and non-nursing venues. She is a three-time recipient of the Excellence in Research Award from the American Psychiatric Nurses’ Association, and book review editor for Issues in Mental Health Nursing. She received her bachelors of science in nursing from Marshall University, and her masters of Science and doctor of philosophy from the University of Kentucky.

Engineering Student Earns STEM Conference AwardJasmine Worlds at the Women of Color STEM Conference

The Women of Color STEM Conference has named UT’s Jasmine Worlds the 2017 recipient of the Student Leadership Award from the Career Communication Group.

Worlds, a senior in mechanical engineering, was honored for her work in engineering and her commitment to volunteering outside the classroom. She received the award Oct. 7 at the group’s conference in Detroit, Michigan.

“UT provides many opportunities for its students to lead,” said Worlds. “Having the opportunity to create or influence change is important, and UT has provided a space where it is possible to do so.”

Continue reading


Suzanne Lenhart, professor of mathematics, was honored with the 2017 SEC Faculty Achievement Award, the SEC announced this week.  Lenhart is a passionate advocate for women and other underrepresented groups in STEM fields. The SEC award recognizes professors from the 14 Southeastern Conference schools who have outstanding records in teaching and scholarship.

UT, sophomore Blaine Ziegler and freshman Emma Sopcak were awarded $5,000 scholarships from the Today show and PurePoint Financial as part of the Rokerthon 3, weatherman Al Roker’s journey to five universities across the US to set world records.

UT researcher Devon Burr, associate professor of earth and planetary sciences, co-authored a paper published in the journal Nature Geoscience describing the surface of Titan, Saturn’s largest moon. Turns out that the grains covering the surface act like clingy packing peanuts—they become electrically charged and cause particles to stick to them.