Updates and Information on Coronavirus (COVID-19)
Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

School of Architecture

October/November edition of NCURA Magazine.

Webster’s article,”Failing to Succeed in Research Administration”, examines productive failure and how it can apply to research administration. This includes fostering a productive work environment that acknowledges the value of mistakes, as well as being proactive and positive about your own career development. Webster shows that both supervisors and administrators, experienced and new, are responsible for this work culture. “The concept behind productive failure is simple: We learn from our mistakes. Acknowledge your mistakes, but don’t dwell on them.[To be successful in the field of research administration], don’t become part of a ‘culture of denial’.”

The National Council of University Research Administrators (NCURA) is an organization of individuals with professional interests in the administration of sponsored programs, primarily at colleges and universities. NCURA magazine is published six times a year.

UT-ORNL Governor’s Chair Wirth Named American Nuclear Society Fellow

Brian Wirth, the joint UT–Oak Ridge National Laboratory Governor’s Chair for Computational Nuclear Engineering, has been named a fellow of the American Nuclear Society, the group’s highest honor.

ANS President Robert Coward said that the recognition is in response to Wirth’s “advancement of nuclear science and technology through the years.” He received the award Monday during the ANS winter conference in Washington, DC.

“Brian is a foremost expert on nuclear fuels and materials, and this acknowledges and solidifies that,” said Wes Hines, head of UT’s nuclear engineering department and the Charles P. Postelle Distinguished Professor in Nuclear Engineering.

Karen Sullivan-Vance is New Associate Vice Provost for Student Success

Karen Sullivan-Vance is the new associate vice provost for student success.

In this role, she will provide campus-level oversight of the university’s centralized student success units, including the Student Success Center, First-Year Studies, the Educational Advancement Program, and the Office of National Scholarships and Fellowships. She also will work closely with the Academic Advising Leadership Group, the vice provost for academic affairs, and the vice provost for enrollment management in promoting a campus culture that supports student success.

Neal Named Accounting and Information Management Department Head

Terry L. Neal, Richard L. Townsend Distinguished Professor, has been named head of the Department of Accounting and Information Management at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville’s Haslam College of Business.

“Terry has been serving very ably as interim department head for several months, with excellent support from Anita Hollander, the assistant department head, and the support of AIM faculty and staff,” said Stephen L. Mangum, dean and Stokely Foundation Leadership Chair.

Neal, who has been a member of the faculty in the department for the past 15 years, also is an alumnus of the department’s Ph.D. program. He served as Ph.D. director for 12 years, has taught courses at all levels of instruction and produces research for leading publications.

Continue reading

David M. Royse, coordinator and associate professor of music education in UT’s School of Music, is one of nine music faculty members nationwide chosen to participate in the CMS-NAMM Summer Fellows Program for Music Faculty. The program is designed to introduce music faculty to professions in the music industry, giving them background to better prepare students for careers as 21st-century musicians.

Dillon Dunn, a fifth-year Architecture student, was recently awarded the 2017 Aydelott Travel Award for a study proposal titled “Architecture and Pilgrimage: Movement Through Time.” The prestigious scholarship will fund a summer-long journey to study architecture in four countries across Europe and Asia. Dunn’s winning proposal outlines plans to analyze four religious structures in as many countries, including the Padre Pio Pilgrimage Church in San Giovanni Rotondo, Italy; the Church of the Holy Sepulcher in Jerusalem, Israel; Loro Jonggrang and Prambanan Temple Compound in Central Java, Indonesia; and the Itsukushima Shrine in Hiroshima, Japan.

The Pulliam School of Journalism at Franklin College recently recognized Tanya Brown, executive director of marketing and public relations for the Haslam College of Business, with its Young Alumni Award. “Tanya’s academic ability, drive and work ethic were evident from the time she matriculated,” said Joel E. Cramer, division head for Pulliam. “The Pulliam School of Journalism Young Alumni Award was given in recognition of the realization of the promise Tanya exhibited as student. We are proud of her achievements and to have her representing Franklin College and the Pulliam School of Journalism.”

The Haslam Summer Scholars Research Awards granted 20 faculty members a total of more than $400,000 to pursue high-quality research in 2017. Now in its fourth year, the program has more than tripled in size since its inception. “These awards reward our faculty for recent performance and incentivize our top researchers to continue their great work,” said Charles Noble, associate dean for research and faculty and the Henry Professor for Business. “More and more, these summer research awards also are an expectation for faculty at top business schools.”

  • Daniel Feller, professor of history and director of The Papers of Andrew Jackson, delivered the William T. Bulger Lecture in American Biography on “Andrew Jackson & Donald Trump: Outsiders Alike?” at Central Michigan University as part of the Organization of American Historians Distinguished Lecture series. Feller and co-editors Thomas Coens and Laura-Eve Moss will receive the Thomas Jefferson Prize from the Society for History in the Federal Government for The Papers of Andrew Jackson: Volume X, 1832. The Society awards the prize every other year for excellence in a documentary edition. This year’s ceremony will be held April 13 at the National Archives in Washington, DC.
  • Sierra Plese, a senior in graphic design from Farragut, Tennessee, designed the cover of Athens of the New South, published by UT Press. The opportunity is the result of a new partnership between UT Press and the School of Art’s graphic design program.
  • Mary Morgan Smith, a third-year student in the School of Interior Design, and Mustapha Williams, a fourth-year student in the School of Architecture, won prestigious national scholarships and internships from Gensler, a billion-dollar design firm with 46 locations across the world.