Updates and Information on Coronavirus (COVID-19)
Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue


Chancellor Davenport Recognizes 2017 Powe Awardees

From left, Julie Carrier, head of UTIA’s biosystems engineering and soil science; Taylor Eighmy, vice chancellor for research and engagement; Sindhu Jagadamma; UT Chancellor Beverly Davenport; Rachel Patton McCord; Dan Roberts, head of the Department of Biochemistry and Cellular and Molecular Biology; and Theresa Lee, dean of the College of Arts and Sciences.

UT’s Sindhu Jagadamma and Rachel Patton McCord are recipients of the 2017 Ralph E. Powe Junior Faculty Enhancement Award from Oak Ridge Associated Universities (ORAU).

Chancellor Beverly Davenport recently presented plaques to Jagadamma, assistant professor of biosystems engineering and soil science in the UT Institute of Agriculture, and McCord, assistant professor of biochemistry and cellular and molecular biology, in recognition of the honor.

“Often funding agencies require extensive preliminary data, effectively asking that a project be halfway done before funding it,” said McCord. “This can make things difficult for junior faculty who are just getting projects off the ground, but early support like this Powe Award can give projects momentum to be more competitive for extensive funding later.”
Continue reading

summer intern experiences at Oak Ridge National Laboratory in a variety of programs that offer involvement with developing science, technology, engineering, and mathematics research projects. Oak Ridge Associated Universities administers access to ORNL internships for postdocs, faculty recent graduates, graduate students, undergraduates, and K-12 students and teachers. Contact Amanda VanOver for specific questions about the Higher Education Research Experiences and the Nuclear Engineering Science Laboratory Synthesis programs.