Updates and Information on Coronavirus (COVID-19)
Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Department of Defense

paul.montgomery@utk.edu) regarding your interest in federal opportunities.

The Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA) has published its Young Faculty Award (YFA) solicitation. This year’s YFA has 26 topics. Please be aware that your proposed research should offer “innovative approaches that enable revolutionary advances in science, devices, or systems.”

Proposers are encouraged to submit a 1-page executive summary by 4pm on October 2. The proposal deadline is 4pm on December 4. The estimated award is up to $500k over 2 years, optional third year for an additional $500k.

Continue reading


  • Clay Jones began serving as president of the Alumni Board of Directors on July 1. Jones was named a Torchbearer (UT’s highest undergraduate honor) as a student. His is the former chairman and CEO of Rockwell Collins Inc, and he and his wife established the Director of Leadership Programming Endowment (used to expand students’ leadership opportunities across campus).
  • Eric Wade, assistant professor of Mechanical, Aerospace, and Biomedical Engineering, has received a new R15 award from the National Institute of Biomedical Imaging and Bioengineering, “Quantifying and Reducing Motor Compensation after Stroke in Ambient Settings.” Continue reading