Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue


National Academy of Inventors.

Yilu Liu, the UT-Oak Ridge National Laboratory Governor’s Chair for Power Electronics, serves as deputy director of the National Science Foundation-backed Center for Ultra-wide-area Resilient Electric Energy Transmission Networks—CURENT—which is housed in UT’s Tickle College of Engineering.

Through her role with CURENT, as a researcher, and as a professor of electrical engineering and computer science at UT, Liu has helped pioneer many of the advancements in the safeguarding of the nation’s power grid.
Continue reading

won a $15,000 scholarship from the Philanthropic Educational Organization Sisterhood to pursue biofuel research.

A team of UT law students won second place and second-best brief in the national Dean Jerome Prince Memorial Evidence Competition, besting thirty-four other law school teams from throughout the country.

Suzanne Lenhart, a professor of mathematics and a passionate advocate for women and other underrepresented groups in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) fields, has been selected as a James R. Cox Professor.

According to the New York Times, Margaret Lazarus Dean, associate professor and director of Creative Writing, will collaborate with astronaut Scott Kelly on a book about his yearlong mission aboard the International Space Station.