Updates and Information on Coronavirus (COVID-19)
Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Southeast Regional Energy Innovation


Carbon Fiber Technology Facility

Carbon Fiber Technology Facility / Photo by ORNL

The University of Tennessee, Knoxville, and Oak Ridge National Laboratory are hosting the Southeast Regional Energy Innovation Workshop on Monday, May 23, in Chattanooga, Tennessee, at the Chattanoogan Hotel.

Shelby CobraThe workshop will focus on the future of energy innovation. Participants will explore ways universities, industry, community stakeholders, and the Department of Energy’s national labs can leverage emerging clean energy technologies to stimulate regional economic development.

Representatives from DOE, ORNL, universities, and industries will participate in panel discussions aimed at advancing clean energy innovation and regional collaborations.

This event is an opportunity for participants to share their views on the future of clean energy adoption in the Southeast.

Southeast Regional Energy Innovation Workshop

Hosted by the University of Tennessee, Knoxville and Oak Ridge National Laboratory

8:00 a.m.                     Arrivals and Registration

9:00-9:45 a.m.             WELCOME

Dr. Thom Mason, Director, ORNL, Convener

Mayor Andy Berke, City of Chattanooga
Dr. Joe DiPietro, President, University of Tennessee
Dr. Elizabeth Sherwood-Randall, Deputy Secretary, U.S. DOE
Congressman Chuck Fleischmann, 3rd District of Tennessee


Joe Hezir, Chief Financial Officer, U.S. DOE, Moderator
Dr. Mo Khaleel, Director of Planning, ORNL, Rapporteur

Peter Hoffman, Vice President, Intellectual Property Management, Boeing Co.
Dan Stout, Senior Manager, Small Modular Reactors, TVA
Jason Swager, Manager R&D Electrical, VW Americas
Nick Irvin, Program Manager, Advanced Energy Systems, Southern Company


Dr. Stacey Patterson, Associate Vice President for Research, University of Tennessee, Moderator
Susanna Sutherland, PhD Candidate, The Bredesen Center, University of Tennessee, Knoxville Rapporteur

Dr. Jimmy Cheek, Chancellor, University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Dr. Joanne Romagni, Vice Chancellor for Research and Dean of the Graduate School, University of Tennessee, Chattanooga
Dr. Timothy Lieuwen, Executive Director, Strategic Energy Insitite, Georgia Institute of Technology
Dr. Tanju Karanfil, Vice President for Research, Clemson University
Dr. Ray Vaughn, Vice President for Research and Economic Development, University of Alabama, Huntsville
Dr. David Kosson, Cornelius Vanderbilt Professor of Engineering, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Director of CRESP, Vanderbilt University


11:45-12:30                            LUNCH

12:30-12:45 p.m.                    BREAK


Dr. Lee Riedinger, Director, The Bredesen Center, University of Tennessee, Knoxville, Moderator
Victoria DiStefano, PhD Candidate, The Bredesen Center, University of Tennessee, Knoxville, Rapporteur

Dr. Franklin (Lynn) Orr, Undersecretary for Science & Energy, U.S. DOE
Mallory Ladd, PhD candidate, The Bredesen Center, University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Jeff Beegle, PhD Candidate, The Bredesen Center, University of Tennessee, Knoxville
David Callao, PhD Candidate, University of Tennessee, Chattanooga
Anne Mallow, PhD Candidate, Georgia Institute of Technology
Annette Bodenheimer, Title, North Carolina State University

1:30-2:30 p.m.                       PANEL 2: CLEAN ENERGY INNOVATIONS

Cortney Piper, Tennessee Advanced Energy Business Council, Moderator
Guin Shaw, PhD Candidate, The Bredesen Center, University of Tennessee, Knoxville, Rapporteur

Dr. Tom King, Director, Energy Efficiency and Electricity Programs, ORNL
Dr. Ajeet Rohatgi, Georgia Tech University Center of Excellence for Photovoltaics
David Wade, Executive Vice-President and Chief Operating Officer, EPB


Dr. Jim Roberto, Associate Lab Director, Science and Technology Partnerships, ORNL, Moderator
Dr. Suzy Tichenor, Partnerships Director, Computing and Computational Sciences, ORNL, Rapporteur

Dr. Jeff Nichols, Associate Laboratory Director, Computing and Computational Sciences, ORNL
Dr. Michelle Buchanan, Associate Laboratory Director, Physical Sciences, ORNL
Dr. Bill Peter, Director, Manufacturing Demonstration Facility, ORNL
Dr. Roderick Jackson, Group Leader, Building Envelope Systems, ORNL

3:30-3:45 p.m.                        BREAK

3:45-4:45 p.m.                       PANEL 4: TECH TO MARKET INNOVATIONS

Dr. Mark Johnson, Director, Advanced Manufacturing Office, U.S. DOE, Moderator
Emily Clark, PhD Candidate, The Bredesen Center, University of Tennessee, Knoxville, Rapporteur

Major General Nick Justice, Executive Director, NNMI Power America at North Carolina State University
Dr. Craig Blue, Director, NNMI IACMI at University of Tennessee/ ORNL
Fred Cartwright, Executive Director, CU-ICAR
Dr. Johney Green, Director, Energy and Transportation Science, ORNL
Jay Rogers, CEO and Co-Founder, Local Motors

4:45-5:15 p.m.                        CLOSING REMARKS

Dr. Taylor Eighmy, Vice Chancellor for Research & Engagement, University of Tennessee, Knoxville