Skip to content

Recognitions, October 28

Please send faculty, staff, and student recognitions to Erin Chapin (

  • Joshua Emery, Lawrence A. Taylor Associate Professor of Planetary Science, has co-authored a study that detected potential water on Psyche, the largest metallic asteroid in our solar system and the target of a proposed NASA mission. The study was published in the Astronomical Journal under the auspices of the US Geological survey and NASA.
  • Five members of UT’s faculty and staff attended the 2016 Engagement Scholarship Consurtium (ESC) Conference and presented on the impact of university work in various communities. The university also received a national award recognizing the Appalachian Community Health and Disaster Readiness Project. The presenters from UT were:
    • Lisa Davenport, clinical assistant professor in the College of Nursing
    • Jenny Retherford, lecturer in the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering in the College of Engineering
    • Bob Kronick, professor of educational psychology and counseling in the College of Education, Health, and Human Sciences
    • Elizabeth Burman, outgoing director of the Office of Community Engagement and Outreach in the Office of Research and Engagement
    • Lola Alapo, public relations specialist in the Office of Communications and Marketing.
  • Nine professors have received funding from the Southeastern Conference (SEC) Visiting Faculty Travel Program (funds managed at UT and sometimes supplemented by the Office of Research and Engagement). The grant funding will allow these professors to travel to other schools in the conference and collaborate with colleagues in their disciplines. The nine professors are:
    • Shelley Binder, professor of music
    • Katie Johnson, assistant professor of music
    • Alexander Lapins, assistant professor of music
    • Patrick Grzanka, assistant professor of psychology
    • Stuart Brotman, professor of journalism and electronic media
    • Jerzy Dydak, professor of mathematics
    • Ronald Taylor, professor of advertising and public relations
    • Xiaopeng Zhao, associate professor of mechanical, aerospace, and biomedical engineering
  • The Howard H, Baker Jr. Center for Public Policy has added 14 new Baker Scholars to its program, bringing the total number to 30. The new class of scholars will graduate in May 2018 and their names are:
    • Ben Bergman
    • Joshua Brown
    • Feroza Freeland
    • Will Gableman
    • Lucy Greer
    • Miranda Isaacs
    • Elle Johnson
    • McKenzie Manning
    • Turner Matthews
    • Lauren Patterson
    • Avanti Rangnekar
    • Sarah Smith
    • Tristan Smith
    • Gus White
  • A team of researchers at UT have identified a set of bacterial genes that could help them find ways to lessen the severity of malaria and aid the research of scientists working in malaria-stricken regions around the world. The study was published in the journal Frontiers in Microbiology. The team members from include:
    • Steven Wilhelm, the Kenneth and Blaire Mossman Professor in the Department of Microbiology (the majority of the work was conducted in Wilhelm’s lab)
    • Shawn Campagna, associate professor of chemistry
    • Gary LeCleir, research assistant professor of microbiology
    • Joshua Stough, doctoral student in microbiology
    • Nathan Schmidt, assistant professor of microbiology and immunology at the University of Louisville
  • Rob Heller, Journalism and Electronic Media professor in the College of Communication and Information, has involved his media graphics students with the upcoming election by asking them to design posters encouraging people to vote. The assignment was required to be nonpartisan and use only three words, one of which had to be a version of the word “vote”. Lamar Advertising has agreed to pring three vinyl signs and include some of the work on digital billboards around the city.

The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.

Report an accessibility barrier.Privacy.