Updates and Information on Coronavirus (COVID-19)
Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Recognitions, October 25

Wu Wins Top Engineering Award for Materials Science ResearchYuntao Wu Research Asst Prof MSE

The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers has honored UT’s Yuntao Wu with the 2017 Radiation Instrumentation Early Career Award, a top honor for young faculty.

Wu, a research assistant professor in materials science and engineering, was honored for “significant and innovative technical contributions to the fields of radiation instrumentation and measurement techniques.”

Given by IEEE’s Nuclear and Plasma Science Society, the honor comes for Wu’s work with the Scintillation Materials Research Center at UT.

Beebe Inducted as Fellow in the American Academy of NursingLora Beebe

College of Nursing Professor Lora Humphrey Beebe was inducted as a Fellow in the American Academy of Nursing on October 7.  The Academy serves the public and the nursing profession by advancing health policy and practice through the generation, synthesis, and dissemination of nursing knowledge. Academy members, known as Fellows, are nursing’s most accomplished leaders.

Beebe’s research informs psychiatric nursing practice, shapes nursing education nationally and internationally, and has been published and presented in both nursing and non-nursing venues. She is a three-time recipient of the Excellence in Research Award from the American Psychiatric Nurses’ Association, and book review editor for Issues in Mental Health Nursing. She received her bachelors of science in nursing from Marshall University, and her masters of Science and doctor of philosophy from the University of Kentucky.

Engineering Student Earns STEM Conference AwardJasmine Worlds at the Women of Color STEM Conference

The Women of Color STEM Conference has named UT’s Jasmine Worlds the 2017 recipient of the Student Leadership Award from the Career Communication Group.

Worlds, a senior in mechanical engineering, was honored for her work in engineering and her commitment to volunteering outside the classroom. She received the award Oct. 7 at the group’s conference in Detroit, Michigan.

“UT provides many opportunities for its students to lead,” said Worlds. “Having the opportunity to create or influence change is important, and UT has provided a space where it is possible to do so.”

Professor Musfeldt Named 2017 APS FellowJanice Musfeldt

Janice Musfeldt, Ziegler Professor of Chemistry, was elected to the 2017 class of American Physical Society (APS) Fellows. The APS Fellowship is a distinct honor signifying recognition by one’s professional peers.

Musfeldt was nominated by APS Division of Materials Physics for her “contributions to the spectroscopy of quantum materials with an emphasis on high magnetic field effects in multiferroics, quantum magnets, and nanomaterials.”

The APS Fellowship Program recognizes members who have made exceptional contributions to the physics enterprise, including outstanding physics research, important applications of physics, leadership in or service to physics, or significant contributions to physics education. Each year, no more than one half of one percent of the Society’s membership is elected to the status of Fellow.

Two Graduate Students Received Shull Wollan Center Graduate Research FellowshipShelby Stavretis and Fatema Wahida

Shelby Stavretis, a 4th year graduate student in Dr. Ben Xue’s research group, and Fatema Wahida, a 3rd year graduate student in Dr. John Larese’s research group, were awarded Shull Wollan Center Graduate Research Fellowship for May 2017 through April 2018. The Fellowship includes a year of stipend in support of  the awardees’ research.

In 1998 Oak Ridge National Lab (ORNL) and the University of Tennessee (UT) established the Joint Institute for Neutron Sciences, which had been reconstituted as the Shull Wollan Center: a Joint Institute for Neutron Science.

“(Clifford) Shull and (Ernest) Wollan were pioneering researchers of neutron diffraction in the 1940s, laying the groundwork for scientific breakthroughs that continue to this day in physics, energy science, materials science, and biological science,” stated on UT’s Office of Research & Engagement website.

Information Sciences Professor Bilal to Receive National Research AwardDania Bilal

Information Sciences Professor Dania Bilal of UT’s College of Communication and Information is receiving an international award for her outstanding contributions to information behavior research.

She will be honored later this month by the Association for Information Science and Technology (ASIS&T) Special Interest Group for Information Needs, Seeking and Use (SIGUSE). She also joins the SIGUSE Academy of Fellows.

Bilal’s research focuses on children’s cognitive and affective information behavior in using and interacting with information retrieval systems, and is situated at the intersection of information retrieval, information behavior, and human-computer interaction. She is one of the foremost experts in the field on children’s and youth’s information seeking and retrieval, and is in the top 1 percent most cited researchers worldwide in this area. She conducts her work with children nationally and internationally in schools, libraries, and computer lab settings.