Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Recognitions, November 18

Please send faculty, staff, and student recognitions to Erin Chapin (

  • The Torchbearer award (the highest student honor bestowed by the University of Tennessee) celebrated its 85th anniversary with a reunion of more than 95 recipients representing classes from 1945 to 2015.

  • Sandra MacQuillan, chief supply chain officer at Kimberly-Clark, was honored with the first-ever Distinguished Women in Supply Chain award at last week’s Supply Chain Forum at the Haslam College of Business.
  • The College of Communication and Information honored a notable graduate from each of its schools and programs at its campaign kickogg and award gala on Friday. The honorees were:
    • Advertising Alumnus of the Year: Erik Izo, 1987
    • Communication Studies Alumna of the Year: Tiffany M. Haverly, 2008
    • Information Sciences Alumna of the Year: Gloria Sharrar, 1982
    • Journalism and Electronic Media Alumna of the Year: Tiffany Utsman Carpenter, 1996
  • Xuemin Xu, professor in the Department of Biomedical and Diagnostic Sciences within the College of Veterinary Medicine, has been awarded an R21 Exploratory/Developmental Research Grant Award from the National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke for his project, “Pathogenic Role of the Novel Mitochondrial Apoptic Protein PSAP in ALS
  • The UT Army ROTC Alumni Council and Army ROTC Department held their inaugural Army ROTC Hall of Fame Induction Dinner on Veteran’s Day, honoring a first class of twelve