Updates and Information on Coronavirus (COVID-19)
Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Recognitions, June 24

  • Provost Susan Martin has named Gloria Greenfield an Honorary Artist in Residence in Journalism and Electronic Media and Cinema Studies. The Cinema Studies program in the College of Communication & Information is “an interdisciplinary major and minor devoted to studying the artistic, cultural, and political dimensions of motion pictures.”
  • Electrical engineering doctoral candidate Can Huang, of the Center for Ultra-Wide Area Resilient Electric Energy Transmission Networks (or CURENT) was recently honored with the Chinese Government Award for Outstanding Self-Financed Students Abroad. The award, designed to honor elite overseas Chinese students, includes a $6,000 prize and a certificate issued by the China Scholarship Council.
  • A team of of UT Students and faculty from the Department of Mechanical and Biomedical Engineering (MABE) won the VentureWell BMEidea competition for their development of FastCast, a pressure-induced medical cast that overcomes problems typically associated with regular plaster casts, receiving both the $10,000 first-place prize and the Tret Prize of $1,000.
  • Brian Wirth, Governor’s Chair Porfessor for Computational Nuclear Engineering, received the Mishima Award at the American Nuclear Society meeting in New Orleans. Established in 1991, the Mishima Award honors the late Yoshitsugu Mishima, professor at the University of Tokyo. The award recognizes outstanding contributions in research and development work on nuclear fuels and materials.
  • Kurt Terrani, an adjunct assistant professor in nuclear engineering at the University of Tennessee and a Staff Scientist-Weinberg Fellow at Oak Ridge National Laboratory, received the Landis Young Member Engineering Achievement Award, which recognizes outstanding achievement in which engineering knowledge has been effectively applied to yield an engineering concept, design, safety improvement, method of analysis or product utilized in nuclear power research and development or commercial application.
  • Alina Clay, a junior in the College Scholars Program (an interdisciplinary program in the College of Arts and Sciences, has received a prestigious Thomas R. Pickering Foreign Affairs Fellowship. She is the first UT Student to be named a Pickering Fellow, and one of ten undergraduates selected from an applicant pool of over 160 universities worldwide. The Fellowship includes up to $37,500 in expenses annually for two years of expenses in Foreign Services relevant degree programs, two summer internships (one at the State Department and one at an overseas US embassy or consulate), mentoring from a Foreign Services Officer, and employment in the Department of State Foreign Service for those who successfully complete the program and entry requirements.
  • Jonathan Overly, director of the East Tennessee Clean Fuels Coalition, has done exceptional work during his tenure, ushering in a number of improvements to the region’s eco infrastructure. Those efforts have earned recognition from Governor Bill Haslam, who named the coalition one of this year’s recipients of the Governor’s Environmental Stewardship Awards.
  • Five students are spending their summers working in capitol hill internships as part of UT’s Congressional Internship Program. The students participating are:
    • Jalen Blue (working on education issues for the Committee on Health, Education, Labor and Pensions, which is chaired by Sen. Lamar Alexander)
    • Sean Brewer (currently working with Rep. Diane Black and will work with Sen. Bob Corker in the second half of the summer)
    • Sean Francis (working for the Committee on Health, Education, Labor, and Pensions)
    • Miranda Gottlieb (working for Rep. Steve Cohen)
    • Alex Swisher (working with Rep. Marsha Blackburn for the first half of the summer and will work for Rep. Diane Black in the second half of the summer)


Please send college, faculty, student, or staff recognitions to Erin Chapin (erin.chapin@utk.edu).