Updates and Information on Coronavirus (COVID-19)
Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Recognitions, August 12

Please send faculty, staff, and student recognitions to Erin Chapin (erin.chapin@utk.edu).

  • Kristen Savell (a third year doctoral student in the UT Department of Anthropology) and Benjamin Auerbach (a UT associate professor of anthropology), together with Charles Roseman (an associate professor of anthropology at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign) co-authored a potentially groundbreaking study indicating that long bones of the arms and legs do not evolve independently as scientists have long assumed, but instead are all evolving together. The study was published this week in the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences.
  • Darius Ammon has been named as the inaugural Architecture Fellow in the School of Architecture. The new fellowship program is designed to broaden design education at the university and recognizes emerging design educators whose work shows extraordinary promise.
  • The National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) has awarded the James K. Polk Project, based in the Department of History, a $204,785 grant to complete publication of the correspondence of James K. Polk. 290 humanities projects and programs nationwide, including the Polk project, will share $79 million in grants.
  • Jioni Lewis, assistant professor of psychology, has received two national awards for helping to advance the understanding of race and ethnicity: The Women of Color Psychology Award (from the Association for Women in Psychology) and the Outstanding Contribution to Scholarship on Race and Ethnicity Award (American Psychological Association’s Society of Counseling Psychology).
  • UT Professor and joint faculty member at Oak Ridge National Laboratory Joshua Fu, along with graduate student Jian Sun and research assistant professor Kan Huang (all of the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering), have published a study in the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences, indicating that agricultural sources contribute the vast majority of nitrous oxide pollution and contradicting previously held assumptions.