Skip to content

Recognitions, April 21

  • Accomplished faculty, staff, and students were honored Wednesday evening at the annual Chancellor’s Honors Banquet, the university’s largest recognition event of the year. See a full list of 2017 awardees here.
  • Charles Sanft, associate professor of history, has been named a fellow of the American Council of Learned Societies.
  • Sergey Gavrilets, distinguished professor in the Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology and the Department of Mathematics, has been elected a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.
  • Wardell Milan, a New York City-based visual artist, will be recognized for his accomplishments as part of UT’s African American Trailblazer Series on Tuesday, April 25.

  • Matthew T. Kerr, a doctoral candidate in the Department of Geography, is one of only 10 recipients nationwide to be awarded the 2017 Dissertation Fellowship from the Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi.
  • Leslie Chang Jantz, the curator of education at UT’s McClung Museum, has received the Tennessee Association of Museums’ 2017 Emerging Museum Professional award.
  • Sahba Seddighi, who graduated from UT in May 2016, has been named to the highly prestigious Gates Cambridge Scholars program.
  • Mary Morgan Smith, a third-year student in the School of Interior Design, won a 2017 Gensler Brinkmann Scholarship in recognition of her academic excellence, design ability, and creative expression. She will intern at Gensler’s San Francisco location this summer.
  • Mustapha Williams, a fourth-year student in the School of Architecture, earned a 2017 Gensler Diversity Scholarship for his creative rigor, compelling designs, and commitment to user-driven innovation. He is currently studying abroad in Poland and will intern at one of Gensler’s locations this summer.

The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.

Report an accessibility barrier.Privacy.