Skip to content

Nominations Open May 1 for 2018 NAI Fellows

The National Academy of Inventors has opened nominations for its 2018 Fellows Program. The program boasts five representatives from UT Knoxville: Condra Chair of Excellence in Power Electronics Wang Fei (2017), Governor’s Chair for Power Electronics Yilu Liu (2016), J. Douglas Birdwell (2015), professor emeritus of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, John Fisher Distinguished Professor Mark Dean (2014), and former Vice Chancellor for Research and Engagement Taylor Eighmy (2013).

Continue reading

UT Knoxville Has Another Record-Setting Year for Student Fulbrights

Setting a new record for the University of Tennessee, Knoxville, 17 students have been offered Fulbright US Student Program awards for the 2018–19 academic year to study, research, and teach in cities around the world.

In its history UT has had 77 student Fulbright recipients, with its first in 1959. This year, UT had 52 Fulbright candidates and 27 semifinalists, and 17 students have already been offered awards—all single-year records for the university. UT also has two alternates and one semifinalist still pending final notification, which means they could still receive awards. A year ago UT had what was then an institutional best of nine Fulbright recipients, preceded by four (2016), four (2015), and two (2014).

Continue reading

UT Core Facilities Program Support FY18 End of Year Request for Proposals

The UT Core Facilities Program (UTCFP) has released a call for funding requests to established UT Core Facilities (UTCFs). This call is intended to provide support to facilities with critical needs prior to the end of FY18. Awards may be used for the purchase or repair of equipment, assistance with the addition of services, or to offset the operational costs of the facility.

Find more information about the RFP including application instructions. 

If you are interested in learning more about the UT Core Facilities Program and how core facilities may benefit you, please contact Jonathan Phipps at

Recognitions, April 18

Economist to Help Lead National Think Tank

Andrew Muhammad, professor and Blasingame Chair of Excellence at the University of Tennessee Institute of Agriculture, has been invited to serve on the board of directors for the Council on Food, Agricultural and Resource Economics, also known as C-FARE. The council provides information and expertise to decision makers in Washington and functions as a catalyst for incorporating economic principles into the analysis of agricultural and resource decisions.
C-FARE matches expertise to public needs, serving as a conduit between academic research, extension and national policy makers. Muhammad’s considerable experience includes leadership positions at USDA’s Economic Research Service, where he developed an extensive network of trade policy experts and forged solid working relationships with decision makers in the public and private sectors. His research on global food demand has been widely cited and used in economic and global models used by USDA (the baseline GTAP model) and by the International Food Policy Research Institute (the IMPACT model).
Muhammad’s current research focuses on agricultural trade and trade policy, effects of trade on developing countries, and global food demand.

Continue reading

The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.

Report an accessibility barrier