Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue
Faculty and Student Recognitions

Recognitions, April 6

The beginning of April additional honors and funding awards for UT faculty and students: MABE Professor Joins Workforce Advisory Board; Civil and Environmental Engineering Professor Honored with Namesake Scholarship; Geography and Mathematics Student Receives NSF REU; Engineering Student Wins at TLSAMP Conference

Tony Schmitz, UT's Tickle College of Engineering

Schmitz Joins Workforce Advisory Board

MABE Professor Tony Schmitz will be joining the newly formed advisory board for East Tennessee PBS’s Building the Future of East Tennessee’s Workforce project, which seeks to increase awareness of vocational and STEM careers among K-8 students through a series of engaging videos that will air on East Tennessee PBS. The machining videos will be filmed on campus at Schmitz’s Machine Tool Research Center.

Bennett Honored with Namesake Scholarship

UT Engineering Professor Richard BennettRichard Bennett, professor in the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, was recently honored by The Southeast Concrete Masonry Association, which has established a scholarship program in his honor. The Dr. Richard Bennett Engineering Scholarship Program was designed to support students pursuing a degree in the engineering field while encouraging innovative design, application, or utilization of manufactured concrete masonry and/or hardscape products.

Ella Hunter Receives NSF REU Internship

UT Student Ella HunterElla Hunter, Geography and Mathematics major, has received an NSF-funded Research Experience Undergraduate (REU) internship at the University of Oklahoma this summer. Hunter will utilize her concentration in climate change as part of the Real-World Research Experiences for Undergraduates in Atmospheric and Geographic Sciences within the National Weather Center.

Pierce Wins at TLSAMP Conference

UT Engineering Grad Student Jessica PierceJessica Pierce, a junior majoring in biomedical engineering, won third place in the undergraduate research poster competition within the engineering category at the 19th Annual Virtual TLSAMP Research Conference for her poster, “DeepLabCut and MATLAB: An Exploration into Data Processing for Motion Capture in Rabbits.”