Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue
SPARKS Artificial Intelligence

Virtual SPARKS: Artificial Intelligence

The Office of Research, Innovation, and Economic Development (ORIED) is hosting SPARKS: Artificial Intelligence on Wednesday, February 2 from 2–5 p.m. Launched in 2017, SPARKS (Seeking Partnerships to Advance Research, Knowledge, and Science) events bring UT faculty from multiple disciplines together around a common theme to learn and network. Attendees will leave with a better sense of UT-wide expertise and capacity in artificial intelligence, along with contact information for both speakers and attendees, and, hopefully, some inspiration to reach out and initiate a new collaboration with someone.

The event will begin with a keynote address by UT’s own Lynne Parker, who currently serves as the Director of the National Artificial Intelligence Initiative Office, Deputy United States Chief Technology Officer, and Assistant Director of Artificial Intelligence at the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy.

Following the keynote address, the SPARKS event will present a series of lightning talks by the following research faculty:

  • Amy Elias, Department of English; UT Humanities Center
  • Dania Bilal, School of Information Sciences
  • Sean Morey, Department of English
  • Suzie Allard, College of Communication & Information; Center for Information & Communication Studies
  • Chuanren Liu, Department of Business Analytics & Statistics
  • Hilary Havens, Department of English
  • Vasileios Maroulas, Department of Mathematics; NIMBioS
  • Deborah Penchoff, Department of Nuclear Engineering; Innovative Computing Laboratory
  • Abebe Rorissa, School of Information Sciences
  • Vandana Singh, School of Information Sciences
  • Adrian Del Maestro, Department of Physics & Astronomy
  • Cary Staples, School of Design
  • Andrew Madl, School of Landscape Architecture
  • Xiaopeng Zhao, Department of Mechanical, Aerospace, & Biomedical Engineering
  • Micholas Smith, Department of Biochemistry & Cellular and Molecular Biology
  • Hairong Qi, Department of Electrical Engineering & Computer Science
  • Mariam Thalos, Department of Philosophy
  • Joshua Fu, Department of Civil & Environmental Engineering; Bredesen Center
  • Yang Zhao, Department of Animal Science
  • Ioannis Sgouralis, Department of Mathematics
  • Nour Abdoulmoumine, Department of Biosystems Engineering and Soil Science

If you are interested in attending, please register here by Thursday, January 20 to receive a Zoom link for the event.