Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Recognitions, June 24

The official start of summer brings; a UTIA animal science professor presented with continuing service award; four Tickle College of Engineering faculty members selected to join the inaugural cohort of UT’s faculty fellows for technology-enhanced teaching; a professor in the Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering honored with the 2020 chancellor’s Research and Creative Achievement Award; and three Nuclear Engineering faculty members elected to leadership in the American Nuclear Society (ANS).

UTIA Animal Science Professor Presented with Continuing Service Award

David Kirkpatrick from UT's Institute of Agriculture, in front of Morgan HallThe Beef Improvement Federation, an organization dedicated to advancements in the beef industry, has recognized one of UTIA’s seasoned experts for his contributions to the beef cattle industry and his commitment to service. David Kirkpatrick, a professor in the Department of Animal Science and beef cattle expert, was honored with the Continuing Service Award at the 52nd annual meeting of the organization.

Engineering Educators Chosen as Faculty Fellows for Technology-Enhanced Teaching

Montage of faculty fellows Kevin Kit, Matthew Young, Betsy Chesnutt, and Michael Berry

Four Tickle College of Engineering faculty members have been selected to join the inaugural cohort of UT’s faculty fellows for technology-enhanced teaching. UT Teaching and Learning Innovation and the Office of the Provost launched this program to help prepare UT educators for teaching this fall.

Participating TCE faculty are Kevin Kit, associate professor and director of the Cook Grand Challenge Honors program; Mike Berry, professor in EECS; Betsy Chesnutt, lecturer in the engage Engineering Fundamentals program; and Matthew Young, the Rosenberg Associate Professor of Practice in MABE.

The fellows will work through October 2020 in a mix of consultations, group sessions, and on the development of web-based and asynchronous resources in collaboration with Teaching and Learning Innovation and OIT staff. Fellows will submit brief weekly reports to document the reach and effectiveness of the program.

Dr. Mingzhou Jin Received UTK 2020 Research and Creative Achievement Award

Mingzhou Jin from UT's Tickle College of EngineeringMingzhou Jin received the UTK 2020 Chancellor’s Research and Creative Achievement Award. The award honors are bestowed to senior faculty in recognition of excellence in research, scholarship, and creative achievement.

Jin is a professor and associate head of the Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering, and director of the Institute for a Secure and Sustainable Environment. His research is focused on operations research and its application in sustainability, transportation and logistics, supply chain, additive and smart manufacturing, and climate science. Over the past five years, his research has been well sponsored by a broad spectrum of federal and local government agencies and corporations. He has received multiple teaching and service awards from professional organizations and the Tickle College of Engineering.

ANS Elects Three UT Faculty to Leadership Roles

Collage of headshots of Lawrence Heilbronn, Richard Lagdon, and Nicholas Brown from UT's Department of Nuclear Engineering

From left to right: Lawrence Heilbronn, Richard Lagdon, and Nicholas Brown.

The American Nuclear Society (ANS) recently elected three UT Nuclear Engineering faculty members to its leadership.

ANS recently elected seven new members to its national board of directors, including Professor of Practice Richard Lagdon who also serves as the chief engineer of nuclear operations and safety at Bechtel National.

John D. Tickle Associate Professor Lawrence Heilbronn was elected to vice chair/chair-elect of the Radiation Protection and Shielding Division, which is responsible for developing and promoting radiation protection and shielding aspects of nuclear science and technology.

Associate Professor Nicholas Brown was elected to vice chair/chair elect of Nuclear Installations Safety Division. This division seeks a better understanding of the role of safety in the design, construction and operation of nuclear installation facilities and promotes engineering and scientific technology advancement associated with the safety of such facilities.