Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Recognitions, May 1

Kathryn Cosgrove Awarded NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship

Tennessee senior Kathryn Cosgrove has been selected for the NCAA Women’s Enhancement Postgraduate Scholarship, a $10,000 award given to just 13 female college graduates across all NCAA institutions.

A four-time member of the SEC Academic Honor Roll and a recipient of the Service Medallion for 350+ Community Service Hours, Cosgrove is set to graduate Magna Cum Laude in May with a GPA of 3.65 and a degree in therapeutic recreation and sports management. Now medically exempt from competition, she rowed for two seasons for Tennessee and was named to the All-Big 12 Rowing Team in 2017.

Cosgrove has accepted a position with UPS as an inside sales representative in their training program in San Antonio, Texas, but plans to continue working toward her goal of becoming an occupational therapist.

“Luckily, one of the schools I got into was St. Augustine in Austin, Texas, and they have multiple flexible programs that offer classes on just the weekends, part time, or full time,” said Cosgrove. “My start date for St. Augustine can be August 2019, January 2020, or May 2020. I am fortunate enough to have options and am very excited to have gotten into graduate school and received job offers, so now I’m just deciding how to go about it.”

Her ultimate career goal is to become an occupational therapist working with individuals with disabilities in an adaptive sport setting.

Sustainability Awards Environmental Leaders in the Community

The Office of Sustainability held its annual Environmental Leadership Awards on Wednesday, April 24, to recognize students, faculty, staff, and community members who demonstrate exceptional environmental leadership in their everyday lives.

The awards stem from the Committee on the Campus Environment, managed and funded by the Office of Sustainability as one of the annual Earth Month events.

Anderson Selected James R. Cox Professor for 2019

Misty G. Anderson, professor of English and Lindsay Young Professor in the College of Arts and Sciences, has been selected as a James R. Cox Professor.

The three-year award provides a total stipend of $25,500 to be used at the recipient’s discretion.

“This award is an indication of the high regard in which Misty is held by colleagues,” said David Manderscheid, provost and senior vice chancellor. “We are excited and proud to have her at UT and wish her continued success in teaching, research, and service endeavors at the university.”

Debate Team Wins Several Titles at National Debate Tournament

UT is home to one of the best competitive college debate teams in the United States.

The Tennessee Speech and Debate Society is among few student-run teams that competes nationally. The team most recently competed at the International Public Debate Association National Tournament and won awards in several categories: Novice, Junior Varsity, Varsity, and Professional (individual); and Founders and Scholastic (team). The team has previously won five national team titles.

At the tournament, TSDS Vice President Caroline Rogers, a Knoxville native, placed eighth as a debater nationwide and placed fifth as a speaker. Rogers is a senior studying language and world business. This was Rogers’s last tournament.

“Nationals are a tough tournament, with more than 60 competitors in each division,” Rogers said. “But our team has perfected the art of preparing great cases together.”