Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Recognitions, January 23

Professor Named Chancellor of Academy of American Poets

Joy Harjo, the John C. Hodges Chair of Excellence in English, has been appointed to the Board of Chancellors for the Academy of American Poets.

In this position, Harjo joins a list of some of the country’s most established poets, including W.H. Auden, Adrienne Rich, John Ashbery, and Elizabeth Bishop. She is the first Native American poet to be named a chancellor since the board was first formed in 1946.

“It’s quite an honor,” Harjo said. “It will be like being the caretaker of poetry and the poets.”

UT Wins Eight CASE Awards

The University of Tennessee has won eight awards in the Council for Advancement and Support of Education (CASE) District III awards competition.

CASE’s District III includes Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, and Virginia.

Award levels are Grand, Excellence, and Special Merit.

Renfro Named Director of Corporate Engagement for Haslam

Blake Barton Renfro recently joined the Haslam College of Business as director of corporate engagement for executive programs.

Renfro says he was drawn to Haslam because the university’s research and faculty resources are in line with top-tier public research universities.

“I’ve already been reaching out to colleagues across the university system to learn more about their work with industry,” he says. “I believe our future success is dependent upon working together and evolving our response to prescient business issues.”

Although his professional career is in development, Renfro says he started college studying history, a discipline that serves him well now.

“Storytelling is the historian’s craft, and it is vital to my role here at Haslam,” he says. “When I’m on the road talking with business and civic leaders, I tell them about the work we are doing to engage emerging business leaders, support our alumni community and grow our footprint nationally.”

Thompson Chosen as Winner of Inaugural Design Competition

Congratulations to Taylor Thompson, a 2nd-year student in Architecture.  Thompson was chosen as the winner of the college’s inaugural holiday e-message student design competition.

Thompson’s snowflake-like design is an animated image that seems to reflect light as it reveals UT’s Power T at its center.

“Over the past few months, I have become fascinated with creating simple, geometry-based animations that are entertaining to create and receive,” Thompson said. “I hope that the ‘walking blocks’ animation I have created spreads a little extra cheer in the New Year.”

Thompson’s design will be digitally distributed to close to 4,000 alumni and friends of the college. Also as part of the win, she receives a $500 prize, and her design will be featured on our homepage.

UTSI’s Schwartz Wins AIAA Student Competition

Matthew Schwartz has earned a reputation—and several speaking awards—as a great speaker and presenter during his time at the University of Tennessee Space Institute. Earlier this month, the graduate research assistant won first place during the AIAA International Student Competition at the annual AIAA Sci-Tech Convention in San Diego, California.

This was a follow-up competition to a regional AIAA Student Competition that he won in April 2018. The title of this presentation was, “Characterization of Near – Muzzle Ballistic Flow fields using High-speed Shadowgraphy.”

“We have developed a direct shadowgraph setup to study ballistic flowfields,” said Schwartz. “I talked about some of the results and how this optical technique can be used to gather quantitative measurements. I am incredibly thrilled by this win.”