Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Recognitions, August 22

National Endowment for the Humanities Awards the Papers of Andrew Jackson Project $325,000Dan Feller

The National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) announced $43.1 million in awards for 2018 humanities projects across the country. The Papers of Andrew Jackson project received $325,000 to prepare Volumes 11, 12, and 13 for publication, covering the presidential years 1833 through 1835. This grant is the second highest among the 21 awarded this year within the NEH Scholarly Editions and Translations program.

“This generous grant is the largest we have ever received from the NEH and comes as a welcome show of confidence in the quality and significance of our work,” says Dan Feller, professor of history and director of The Papers of Andrew Jackson project. “Together with the substantial increase in support we received this year from the National Historical Publications and Records Commission, this three-year NEH award ensures that our progress towards completion of the series will continue and even accelerate.”

Architecture Professor Chosen as Design Research Fellow

Marshall Prado, assistant professor in the School of Architecture, has been selected as a 2018-2019 Exhibit Columbus University Design Research fellow.

Exhibit Columbus in Columbus, Indiana, is an annual exploration of architecture, art, design and community that offers an international symposium and exhibition.  Since 2015, the event has drawn visitors from around the world.

As part of the fellowship, Prado will participate in the 2018 Exhibit Columbus Symposium.  He will join other fellows to present a conversation on States of Design Education and introspections of their innovative research.  Prado’s research centers on robotic fabrication of fiber composite structures in architecture and the integration of computation and fabrication techniques into material systems and spatial design strategies. Companies that support his research include Oak Ridge National Laboratory Carbon Fiber Technology Facility, Owens Corning and Hexion Inc.

Prado is one of nine fellows from eight universities. The Exhibit Columbus committee received 32 proposals from 10 universities.

Shepardson Named Religious Studies Department HeadChristine Shepardson, head of the Department of Religious Studies.

Christine Shepardson, a Lindsay Young Professor, was appointed head of the Department of Religious Studies. She has been at UT since 2003.

Shepardson received her PhD in early Christianity from Duke University in 2003. She studies the history of early Christianity, particularly the Mediterranean world in the period of late antiquity. She is the winner of a 2016-2017 NEH Fellowship, a 2009-2010 ACLS Fellowship, a 2008 NEH Summer Stipend, and a 2008 Franklin Research Grant from the American Philosophical Society.

“I believe wholeheartedly in the value of our mission to maintain a faculty of research and teaching excellence and an outstanding undergraduate program for the critical, comparative, and cross-cultural study of religion, and I feel fortunate to have colleagues who have so much to contribute toward these goals.”

Micucci Army Research Lab’s Summer Student Research Symposium Finalist

Cassie Micucci, gradaute student in the department of mathematics, was a finalist at the Army Research Lab’s (ARL) Summer Student Research Symposium at the graduate level.

Micucci’s presentation and work was on statistical analysis for real-world metrics and virtual simulation variables. This is a Department of Defense funded project which engages the triplet, academia, government, and industry.

Frank Awarded 2018 Routledge, Taylor & Francis Prize

The American Philosophical Association is pleased to announce that Dr. David Frank has been awarded the 2018 Routledge, Taylor & Francis Prize for his article, “Ethics of the Scientist qua Policy Advisor: Inductive Risk, Uncertainty, and Catastrophe in Climate Economics.”

The Routledge, Taylor & Francis Prize, which includes a $1,000 monetary award for each winner, is awarded annually in recognition of the two best articles by APA members who hold limited-term research or teaching positions at an institution of higher education.