Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Recognitions, June 27

Four Scholars Spend Three Weeks Studying WWII in Europe

UT Normandy ScholarsFour students from the College of Architecture and Design who were chosen as UT Normandy Scholars spent 13 days in May exploring the history of World War II in England, France and Germany.

Normandy Scholars is an interdisciplinary program designed to allow undergraduate students from across the University of Tennessee, Knoxville, to study World War II in a wider context.

While abroad, students visited memorials, museums, galleries, parks and cemeteries.  To read more about these students’ travels, check out their blog at

Two Faculty Members Awarded Third Place for Renovation of Ireland’s Connolly’s of Leap

Two faculty members, Lisa Mullikin, Associate Professor of Interior Architecture, and Kevin Stevens, Lecturer in the School of Architecture, were recently awarded third place in an international design competition in Ireland.

The contest challenged designers to envision a renovation and extension of the famous Connolly’s of Leap, an Irish cult music venue located near the southern tip of Ireland. With three generations of owners, the venue is historic to the region and has championed live music since 1810.  For more than 200 years, the venue has made a name on the international music scene for hosting thousands of world-famous artists as well as cult music talent.

Mullikin and Stevens’s design, titled “Rooted|Rootless,” focuses the design of the music venue around a central tree, called the Mother Tree, which is known for supporting life and passing wisdom. The design includes a series of gardens and ramps to bring visitors from the existing waterfall, ravine and surrounding neighborhood. Complete with a full, floating, faceted canopy, their design aims to honor the relationship between the music, place and people who visit this iconic venue.

In the News

Maureen Taylor, director of the School of Advertising and Public Relations, has been elected a fellow of the International Communication Association in recognition of her distinguished scholarly contributions to the broad field of communication.

Nan Gaylord has been named an Academy Edge Runner by the American Academy of Nursing for her model “Interprofessional Practice at the Vine School Health Center: A School-Based Nurse-Managed Clinic.” The award recognizes nurse-designed models of care that improve quality, impact cost, and enhance patient satisfaction.

Mark Harmon, professor of journalism, received a third-place award in the recent Golden Press Card competition for his editorial “When Things Get Scary, Remember Mr. Rogers,” published online at last year.

Wes Hines, department head of the Nuclear engineering, received the Thomas French Achievement award from the Ohio State University Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering. The award is presented to alumni who have distinguished themselves as scholars and educators.

Jeffrey T. Fairbrother, associate dean of academic and faculty affairs, has been awarded a 2018–19 Southeastern Conference Academic Leadership Development Program Alumni Fellowship.

Hollie Raynor, interim assistant dean for research and a professor in the Department of Nutrition, has received the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics Excellence in Practice–Dietetic Research Award.

Rosalind Hackett, professor and head of the Department of Religious Studies, has been honored with Yoruba names by Oba (King) of Erinmo, Nigeria.

Randal Hepner, senior lecturer for the Department of Religious Studies, was promoted to Distinguished Lecturer.