Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Nominations Open May 1 for 2018 NAI Fellows

The National Academy of Inventors has opened nominations for its 2018 Fellows Program. The program boasts five representatives from UT Knoxville: Condra Chair of Excellence in Power Electronics Wang Fei (2017), Governor’s Chair for Power Electronics Yilu Liu (2016), J. Douglas Birdwell (2015), professor emeritus of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, John Fisher Distinguished Professor Mark Dean (2014), and former Vice Chancellor for Research and Engagement Taylor Eighmy (2013).

Nominations can be submitted through the NAI website May 1 through July 31, 2018. Eligibility requirements, along with instructions and the review process, are listed here.

The program has 912 Fellows worldwide representing more than 250 prestigious universities and governmental and non-profit research institutes. Collectively, the Fellows hold more than 32,000 issued U.S. patents, which have generated over 9,400 licensed technologies and companies, and created more than 1.3 million jobs.