Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Recognitions, January 24

Students Chosen as Normandy Scholars

Four students have been selected to participate in the Normandy Scholars program during the spring 2018 semester. Students in the program will study World War II in a wider context by examining how social, cultural, political and technological shifts affect how societies react to and commemorate past conflicts in their national histories. Only 15 students were accepted from the highly selective pool, including Sydney Bittinger, 3rd-year Architecture; Patrick Keogh, 3rd-year Interior Architecture; Autumn Ragland, 2nd-year Architecture; and Jonathan Winfiele, 3rd-year Architecture.

Katy Chiles Receives NEH Fellowship

Katy Chiles, associate professor of English and affiliate faculty of Africana Studies, received a National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) fellowship for the 2018-19 academic year to support her book project, Raced Collaboration in Antebellum America. The project is the first comprehensive study of the crucial role collaboration played in early African American and Native American literatures. Chiles’s focus of study is early American literature and critical race theory – a field that includes a commitment to social justice. In her book, she will investigate the ways African American and Native American writers collaborated to speak out about the injustices they experienced.

Bell to Serve as Acting Dean of CEHHS

Sherry Mee Bell, head of the Department of Theory and Practice in Teacher Education, is now acting dean of the College of Education, Health, and Human Sciences. Her appointment was announced January 12 by Interim Provost and Senior Vice Chancellor John Zomchick and took effect immediately. She is stepping in for Dean Bob Rider, who is on medical leave.

Carruthers Named Co-editor of Economics Journal

Celeste Carruthers has been appointed co-editor of the Economics of Education Review. Carruthers is the Ed Boling Faculty Research Fellow and an associate professor of economics in UT’s Haslam College of Business. She also holds a dual appointment as a research faculty member in the Boyd Center for Business and Economic Research. During her three-year term, Carruthers will help oversee the peer review process for submitted studies. She will select referees, evaluate their reports, and decide which studies move toward eventual publication.

Powers Receives Excellence in Research/Creative Achievement Award

John Powers, associate professor of sculpture, was honored by Dean Theresa Lee for excellence in research and creative achievement at the annual College of Arts and Sciences Banquet. Associate Professor John Powers is a multi-faceted artist whose creative work includes kinetic sculpture, carved marble and wood, video animation and projection, and systematic drawing. In a very short time, Powers has been able to build a remarkable creative research record that includes a considerable list of first-class exhibitions.

UT Law student dominates transaction law competition

For the second consecutive year, a UT Law student has won Baylor University Law School’s elite invitation-only “The Closer” competition. Brian K. Adams, Jr., who was joined by coach and Professor Brian Krumm throughout Martin Luther King, Jr. Day weekend at Baylor, finished in first place and returned to Knoxville with $5,000 in prize money. “The Closer” is an invitation-only competition limited to one student entrant per school. Law schools invited to compete must have excelled at previous transaction law competitions or have otherwise distinguished themselves in the area of transactional training. Ten teams were selected for this year’s competition.