Updates and Information on Coronavirus (COVID-19)
Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

ORE Recognizes Exceptional Staff for 2016 Contributions

In an effort to recognize and elevate the accomplishments of its staff during the 2016 calendar year, the Office of Research and Engagement held a division-wide luncheon and presentation in Blount Hall last week.

Taylor Eighmy, vice chancellor for research and engagement, commended members of the ORE team for service to the office, recognition by external organizations, certifications earned, significant accomplishments, promotions, and time of service to the university.

Soren Sorensen was also recognized for “Special Service to ORE” for serving as an ORE Faculty Fellow in the interim following the departure of the former associate vice chancellor for research development, Janet Nelson.

Please join us in congratulating the following staff members for their excellence and wishing them continued success.

Service and External Recognitions

Jennifer Brown – In recognition of her science writing ability, work on the Science Alliance annual report, and assistance to Distinguished Scientist Robert Hatcher.

Betty Carmon – For finding and fixing an Oak Ridge National Laboratory funding shortage for multiple distinguished scientists and for proactive actions taken to resolve projected overspending of distinguished scientist accounts.

Linda Hamilton – For her excellent work in preparing and revising standard operating procedures for the biosafety level 3 (BSL-3) laboratory at the veterinary college, implementing a new annual laboratory audit program, commitment to building rapport with the research community and to improving laboratory safety culture.

Jessie Holder-Tourtellotte – For supporting the design and implementation of the Responsible Conduct of Research certificate program for graduate students.

Jackie Lanning – Significant printer cartridge cost savings to ORE; outstanding customer service to ORE staff in resolving countless issues related to payroll, travel, etc.

Paul Montgomery – For his assistance in obtaining awards from the Army Research Laboratory (ARL), Army Research Office (ARO), Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA), National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA), Office of Naval Research (ONR), Minerva, and the Defense University Research Instrumentation Program (DURIP) totaling approximately S1.7M.

Melanie Murphy – For her skills with Excel to improve, simplify and automate tasks for others such as memberships, professional development, and email list merging; for rebuilding the ORE computer inventory lists to one spreadsheet with complete, accurate, and consistent data and for being recognized by the Institutional Review Board Chair, Colleen Gilrane, for extraordinary support.

Sarah Mulville – For extraordinary service and customer support to faculty and students in relation to IRB.

Sharon Pound – Provided support for 17 projects including a $2.88 million National Science Foundation Scholarships in Science, Technology, Engineering and Math (NSF S-STEM) award.

Renee Thomas – In recognition of her procurement and negotiating skills when installing two office cubicles for OSP; for her assistance in providing UT network availability to JIBS personnel located at ORNL; for coordinating the installation of projection systems for conference rooms A004 and A113 and for being recognized by Colleen Gilrane for extraordinary support.

Jennifer Webster – In 2016, UT’s National Institutes for Health (NIH) funding (as listed in RePORT) increased by 50%, partly driven by a 267% increase in R15 awards since the 2014 launch of the formal NIH engagement strategy that she helped design and implement.

Jessica Woofter – For preparing the iMedRIS compliance management system for the UT Biosafety Program, including comprehensive written tutorials and training videos and for and preparing implementing several Qualtrics-based tools to streamline routine processes.

David SmelserNational Council of University Research Administrators (NCURA) Executive Leadership Program (ELP) – Class of 2016, NCURA Magazine Co-Editor, NCURA Region III Chair Appointed Executive Committee member, NCURA Region III New Members Committee member and presentations at NCURA Annual Meeting.

Stacey Wade – NCURA Article “Multitasking Does Not Work.” December 2016 issue, NCURA Campus Liaison for University of Tennessee, Serving on the NCURA Region III “Mentoring Committee”

Jennifer Benson – NCURA Article “The University of Tennessee Creating BIG Impacts with Faculty Visits.” Jan/Feb 2016 issue (with Shannon Spencer); Serving on the NCURA Region III “Attendee Experience Committee”;2016 NCURA Region III Spring Meeting Program Committee

Shannon Spencer – Co-wrote an article for NCURA magazine- January/February 2016 edition titled: “The University of Tennessee, Creating BIG Impacts with Faculty visits.”


Raymond Norris – Certified Research Administrator

Stacey Wade – Certified Research Administrator

Jennifer Webster – Certified Research Administrator

Significant Accomplishments 

Betty Carmon – Completed her Bachelor’s degree in Interdisciplinary Studies.


Shannon Spencer – Promoted to Sponsored Program Administrator I, Level 2

Time in Service Anniversary 

Renee Thomas – 30 Year Service Award

Diana Moyer – 15 Year Service Award

Jennifer Benson – 10 Year Service Award

Melinda Bousfield – 5 Year Service Award

Donna Ford – 5 Year Service Award

Cindy Scott – 5 Year Service Award

Jessica Woofter – 5 year Service Award

Special Service 

Soren Sorensen – For service as an ORE Faculty Fellow for FY 2016