Updates and Information on Coronavirus (COVID-19)
Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Office of Undergraduate Research Honors Outstanding Faculty Mentors

2016 Undergraduate Faculty Mentors of the Year
As departments around campus began wrapping up the spring semester and preparing for finals, the Office of Undergraduate Research made some special surprise deliveries to a few faculty members. The first Undergraduate Research Faculty Mentor of the Year Awards were hand delivered to University of Tennessee, Knoxville faculty members that demonstrated an outstanding commitment to mentoring undergraduate researchers during the 2015-2016 academic year.

Four faculty members received the award this year:

  • Sadie Hutson, associate professor of nursing
  • Daniel Roberts, head of the department of biochemistry and cellular and molecular biology
  • Sherry Cox, clinical professor of biomedical and diagnostic sciences in the College of Veterinary Medicine
  • Anne Smith, professor and head of the Department of Management at the Haslam College of Business.

Recipients were nominated by at least two undergraduate students, with at least one having participated in the recent Exhibition of Undergraduate Research and Creative Achievement (EURēCA). All of the selected faculty received glowing nominations from multiple student researchers.

“We are so proud of our faculty for taking the time to mentor undergraduates in research,” said Marisa Moazen, director of undergraduate research. “As interest from students has grown, our university faculty have responded by increasing their willingness to provide mentorship and we believe their efforts and successes merit recognition with a specialized annual award.”

Undergraduate research affords students the opportunity to pursue career development opportunities, scholarly knowledge and answers to interesting questions. Student researchers support their faculty mentors’ research as well as devising fresh projects of their own creation. The support of faculty mentors is vital to the success of students pursuing creative achievement.


Click the names above for spotlights on each of the award winners.



Jessie Holder Tourtellotte (865-974-2152, jholde11@utk.edu)