Updates and Information on Coronavirus (COVID-19)
Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Faculty Awarded for Leadership Compliance, Integrity, and Safety

2015-16 Research Integrity Service Excellence and Leadership Awards

Top Row: Christine Egger, Terry Hazen, Troy Lane, Guoxun Chen. Second Row: Patricia Coan, Dawnie Steadman, Lee Meadows Jantz. Third Row: Colleen Gilrane, Theresa Lee, David Bemis. Bottom Row: Robert Nobles, Brian Ranger.


The Office of Research Integrity presented seven faculty members with Service Excellence and Leadership Awards during a special celebration at Tyson House Thursday afternoon.

This is the first year the office has given out these awards to faculty members who showed particular dedication in their field toward compliance, integrity, safety, and commitment to the university’s shared governance model.

The recipients for the 2015-2016 academic year are:

  • Christine Egger, professor of anesthesiology at the College of Veterinary Medicine and chair of the Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee. She has been instrumental in working with investigators on issues of compliance, and associated corrective action steps and is admired for her dedication to the humane care for the research animals. Patricia Coan, clinical associate professor and attending veterinarian in the Office of Lab Animal Care, presented Egger with this award for her dedication as a leader for Humane Animal Care and Oversight.
  • Terry Hazen, Governor’s Chair for Environmental Biotechnology and professor in the Departments of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Microbiology and Earth and Planetary Sciences, and Biosciences Division at Oak Ridge National Laboratory, and the director for the Institute for Secure and Sustainable Environment. His vision for enhanced safety mechanisms at the university as the first chair of the institutional laboratory safety committee has already led to important improvements in laboratory safety and has generated discussion regarding the pathway to improve the culture of lab safety on campus. UT Police Chief Troy Lane presented Hazen with this award for his dedication and foresight to laboratory safety.
  • David Bemis, professor of bacteriology and mycology in the Department of Biomedical and Diagnostic Sciences within the College of Veterinary Medicine. Brian Ranger, director of the Biosafety Program, presented Bemis with this award for his 30 years of service on the Institutional Biosafety Committee, contributions to the biohazards in teaching labs task force, and demonstration of laboratory safety excellence in his clinical laboratory.
  • Guoxun Chen, assistant professor of nutrition. John Zomchick, vice provost for faculty affairs, presented Chen this award for his commitment to integrity and safety within his laboratory where he trains undergraduate and graduate students, his service to the Radiation Safety Committee and task force commissioned to assess biohazards in teaching labs, and for consistently providing guidance and service excellence in safety.
  • Dawnie Steadman, professor of anthropology and director of the Forensic Anthropology Center. Lee Meadows Jantz, senior lecturer and adjunct associate professor of anthropology and associate director of the Forensic Anthropology Center. Arts and Sciences Dean Theresa Lee presented Steadman and Jantz with their awards for demonstrating dedication to safety and compliance by promoting and adhering to rigorous training and standard operating procedures for the Forensic Anthropology Center.
  • Colleen Gilrane, associate professor in the Department of Theory and Practice in Teacher Education and chair of the Institutional Review Board. Robert Nobles, associate vice chancellor for research, presented Gilrane with this award for selflessly committing herself to improving the infrastructure, compliance, and faculty and student outreach with regard to the IRB process.

“I am deeply humbled by the effort put forth by our faculty members and their dedication to making the university a safe place to work, live, and study for our community,” said Nobles. “The recipients of these, our inaugural service excellence and leadership awards, embody the Volunteer spirit and have a strong commitment to shared governance in the areas of research compliance, integrity, and safety. Each is deserving of this recognition of their service and leadership.”