Updates and Information on Coronavirus (COVID-19)
Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Faculty and Staff Present, Receive Award at Engagement Scholarship Conference


UT attendees (from left) Lisa Davenport, Lola Alapo, Elizabeth Burman, Bob Kronick, and Jenny Retherford

Five faculty and staff members shared the impact of UT’s work on various communities during a national conference in Omaha, Nebraska, earlier this month.

The university also received a national award that recognized a project designed to improve the wellness and disaster readiness of an Appalachian community in Clay County, Kentucky.

The 2016 Engagement Scholarship Consortium (ESC) Conference drew about 500 participants from public and private higher education institutions around the country. ESC schools aim to work collaboratively with communities to build strong partnerships by using academic scholarship to inform the work and help improve the communities.

The UT team attending the conference included Lisa Davenport, clinical assistant professor in the College of Nursing; Jenny Retherford, lecturer in the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering in the College of Engineering; Bob Kronick, professor of educational psychology and counseling in the College of Education, Health, and Human Sciences; Elizabeth Burman, outgoing director of the Office of Community Engagement and Outreach in the Office of Research and Engagement; and Lola Alapo, public relations specialist in the Office of Communications and Marketing.

Continue reading at tntoday.utk.edu.