Updates and Information on Coronavirus (COVID-19)
Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Faculty-Led Compliance and Safety Committees

The concept of shared governance is a unifying principle for many academic institutions that promotes transparency, accessibility, timeliness, collaboration, and consistency in university operations. University of Tennessee, Knoxville, faculty are encouraged to participate in institutional governance in a variety of ways. Two of the most visible means are through either the Faculty Senate or established faculty-led committees.

For areas of compliance and safety alone there are nine such committees:

Campus Safety

Chair: Robert Nobles
Chief Administrator: Mark Smith

Responsible for advising the Chancellor, Vice Chancellor of Finance and Administration, and the Institutional Compliance Committee on matters affecting the safety of employees, students, and visitors on UT, Knoxville campuses.

More information on UT, Knoxville Campus Safety.

Institutional Animal Care and Use

Chair: Melinda Hauser
Administrator contact: Melinda Hauser

Oversees the institution’s animal program, facilities, and procedures; provides a framework for compliance with federal policies, guidelines and principles related to the use of animals in research, teaching and testing; reviews all requests for approval to use vertebrate animals; conducts inspections of all areas where animals are housed and used; and reviews the institutional program for animal use.

More information on IACUC.

Institutional Biosafety

Chair: David White
Administrator contact: Brian Ranger

Establishes, recommends, and approves policies on the proper use of biohazardous agents including recombinant DNA molecules, infectious agents, acute biological toxins, and venomous animals/poisonous plants. (Charter)

More information on the Institutional Biosafety Committee.

Institutional Compliance

Chair: Robert Nobles
Administrator contact: William A. Moles II

Perform compliance risk assessments every five years; identify areas of risk and work with units to develop action plans to address issues; determine compliance priorities for the university, and submit recommendations to chancellor, provost and vice chancellors.

See a flow chart describing the organizational structure of the Institutional Compliance Program.

Institutional Review Board

Chair: Colleen Gilrane

Ensure rights safety and welfare of human rights subjects; establish compliance with federal and state laws/regulations related to conducting human subjects research; resolves unanticipated problems and research noncompliance.

More information on the UT, Knoxville IRB.

Lab and Workplace Safety

Chair: Governor’s Chair Terry Hazen
Administrator contact: Mark Smith

Responsible for assessing and providing recommendations related to the culture of safety within laboratories, shops and other locations on campus; perform review for the use of hazardous chemicals; and recommend communication mechanisms to enhance safety awareness. (Charter)

More information on UT, Knoxville’s Environmental Health & Safety program

Laser Safety

Chair: James Parks
Administrator contact: Marsha Smith

Responsible for the review and approval of applications and amendments for use of class 3B or 4 lasers where beam access is required.

Radiation Safety

Chair: Federica Morandi
Administrator contact: Marsha Smith

Responsible for the review and approval of applications and amendments for use of radioactive materials and sources by university personnel in university facilities.

More information on the Radiation Safety Committee.

Research Conflicts of Interest

Chair: John Kobza

Determine if investigators have significant financial interests that could directly and significantly affect the design, conduct, or reporting of research; and work with the primary investigator and the associated department to manage potential or actual conflicts of interest.