Office of Research & Engagement

UT Knoxville

Vice Chancellor Eighmy Leads National Lab Safety Task Force



Taylor Eighmy, vice chancellor for research and engagement, is heading a new national task force to enhance safety in college and university laboratories.

The Association of Public and Land-grant Universities formed the Task Force on Laboratory Safety recently to provide research universities with recommendations and guidance on strategies to enhance a culture of laboratory safety. The task force is composed of senior research officers and environmental and health safety experts. Eighmy and Mark McLellan, vice president for research for Utah State University, are co-chairs.

APLU formed the group in coordination with the Association of American Universities (AAU), the American Chemical Society (ACS), and the Council on Government Relations (COGR).

“This is an essential matter to address,” Eighmy said. “The culture around lab and studio safety is integral to the responsible conduct of research and scholarly excellence. We are fortunate to have such a dedicated task force and support from APLU, AAU, COGR, and ACS. It will be important for us to listen and learn and bring forward recommendations for implementation. We are excited to work together to help lead this effort.”
Continue reading

Three Students Named Fulbright Scholars; One Named Alternate

Three UT students have received Fulbright Student Program grants to further their studies abroad.

This year’s Fulbright student scholars are:

  • Jeremy Pearson, a doctoral candidate in history, who will be studying in Israel;
  • Josh Sander, a doctoral candidate in history who will be studying in Germany;
  • Kaitlyn Stiles, a doctoral candidate in anthropology, who will be studying in Greece.

In addition, Chris Ludtka, a graduating senior in chemical engineering, has been named a Fulbright alternate. He has since received the Whitaker Scholarship, which funds international study for emerging leaders in biomedical engineering or bioengineering. He will be going to Germany.

Continue reading at

Two Juniors Awarded Prestigious Goldwater Scholarships

Two UT juniors—Benjamin Brock and Adam LaClair—have been named 2015 Goldwater Scholars.

The Barry Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Program awards scholarships to students studying mathematics, science, and engineering. Each scholarship provides a $7,500 award for undergraduate study and research.
Continue reading

Interior Design Student Wins Prestigious Gensler Scholarship, Internship

Erin_Collins-225x300A UT student has been awarded a prestigious national scholarship and internship from Gensler, one of the world’s leading architecture, design and planning firms.

Erin Collins, a third-year interior design student, is the recipient of the 2015 Brinkmann Scholarship, one of two top academic scholarships awarded by Gensler annually. The scholarship will also provide a paid summer internship for Collins at any at Gensler regional office in the nation. Collins has elected to intern in San Francisco.

This is the first time the Brinkmann Scholarship has been given to a UT student.

Continue reading at

Staudt Named New IRB Vice Chair

Marlys Staudt

Marlys Staudt

Marlys Staudt, associate professor of social work, has been named vice chair of the University of Tennessee, Knoxville, Institutional Review Board (IRB).

The IRB regulates all research activities involving human subjects for UT Knoxville and the UT Institute of Agriculture, UT Institute for Public Service, and UT Space Institute.

In addition to serving as acting chair when appropriate and as a member of the board, Staudt will serve on the leadership team to identify needs and plan initiatives to help increase the IRB’s effectiveness.

“I believe it is important that we build a leadership infrastructure for the IRB that includes persons with diverse backgrounds that help us support the research diversity of the entire UT Knoxville research community,” said Colleen Gilrane, IRB chair and associate professor of theory and practice in teacher education. “Her experiences as a researcher, an advisor of student research, and a member of the IRB combine to make her especially qualified to contribute to the IRB in a leadership position.”
Continue reading

UT Student Earns Princeton in Asia Fellowship to Work at Myanmar Newspaper

RJ-VogtR. J. Vogt, a Haslam Scholar and senior in the College Scholars program, has won a Princeton in Asia fellowship that will allow him to spend at least a year working at a bilingual newspaper in the country of Myanmar.

Vogt, of Nashville will leave in August to work at the Myanmar Times, a weekly newspaper that is transitioning to a daily. He’ll be living in Yangon, the city formerly known as Rangoon.

The Princeton in Asia program, an independent, not-for-profit organization affiliated with Princeton University, was founded in 1898 and strives to promote goodwill, understanding, and the exchange of ideas between East and West through immersive work experiences. The program sponsors more than 150 fellowships and internships in twenty countries.

Continue reading at

Contribute to big ideas. Give to UT.

The University of Tennessee, Knoxville. Big Orange. Big Ideas.

Knoxville, Tennessee 37996 | 865-974-1000
The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.